Published by the University of Chicago Press, Chicago Style is a writing system that is used by many publishers and academic disciplines in the United States. The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) is currently in its 17th edition. Chicago style is sometimes referred to as Turabian style, as Turabian style developed from CMOS and is nearly identical. Turabian does not include information about publishing.
Chicago offers two citation systems: the Notes and Bibliography System and the Author-Date System.
The differences between the Chicago and Turabian styles are mainly seen in how notes are numbered.
In Turabian style, use superscript 1 for endnote and footnote numbers in the text and at the beginning of each note.
In Chicago style, the note number in the text is in parentheses (1) and is followed by a period and space in the note, as in the following example:
1. Chicago 1Turabian
| Notes and Bibliography System | Author-Date System |
| Sources are cited in the text by numbered footnotes or endnotes, noted with superscripts. Sources are listed in a separate bibliography. |
Sources are cited in the text by author's last name and year of publication (usually in parentheses). Each in-text citation corresponds with an entry in a reference list. This system looks similar to APA.
|
The Chicago manual of style
This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.
A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers by
On 1 week reserve; you can ask for this book at the library circulation desk.
The Author-Date System has long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.
Each example includes an in-text citation [T] followed by a reference-list entry [R]
|
Book: |
T: (Gutman 1999, 41) R: Gutman, Robert W. 1999. Mozart: A cultural biography. New York: Harcourt Brace. |
|
Book: |
T: (Hock and Price 2004, 93-4) R: Hock, Randolph, and Gary Price. 2004. The extreme searcher’s Internet handbook: A guide for the serious searcher. Medford: CyberAge Books. |
|
Book: |
T: (Davidson et al. 1988, 149) R: Davidson, William, Daniel Sweeney, Thomas Jones, and Ronald Stampfl. 1988. Retailing management. 6th ed. New York: Wiley. |
|
Book: |
If no personal author's name is listed on the title page, the organization/corporation is listed as author, even if it is also given as publisher. T: (JIST Works 2000, 73) R: JIST Works. 2000. NAICS desk reference: The North American industry classification system desk reference. Indianapolis: JIST Works. |
| Book: Multivolume |
When citing the work as a whole, give the total number of volumes after the title (or editor). If published over several years, give the range of years. T: (Wright 1968-78, 2:341) R: Wright, Sewell. 1968-78. Evolution and the genetics of populations. 4 vols. Chicago: Univ. of Chicago Press. When citing only one volume: T: (Wright 1969, 341) R: Wright, Sewell. 1969. Theory of gene frequencies. Vol. 2 of Evolution and the genetics of populations. Chicago: Univ. of Chicago Press. |
|
Chapter in a Book |
T: (Willson 2005, 52-3) R: Willson, Jr., Robert F. 2005. William Shakespeare's Theater. In The Greenwood companion to Shakespeare: A comprehensive guide for students, ed. Joseph Rosenblum, 47-64. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. Note: No quotations are used around book chapters in this format. |
|
Book Published Electronically |
If a book is available in more than one format, you should cite the version you consulted, but you may also list the other formats, as in the second example below. If an access date is required by your publisher or discipline, include it parenthetically at the end of the citation, as in the second example below. T: (Kurland and Lerner 1987) R: Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. 1987. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/ (accessed July 14, 2009). |
For additional examples, see pages 229-247 in the Turabian Manual (2007).
Journals vs Magazines: Journals are normally cited by volume and date, while magazines are normally cited by date alone. If in doubt whether a particular periodical is a journal or magazine, use the journal format if the volume number is easily located, and the magazine format if it is not.
|
Journal with Issue Number Available |
T: (Simmons and Becker-Olsen 2006, 161) R: Simmons, Carolyn, and Karen Becker-Olsen. 2006. Achieving marketing objectives through social sponsorships.Journal of Marketing 70, no. 4:154-169. |
|
Journal with no Issue Number |
T: (Graham 2006, 157) R: Graham, Sarah. 2006. Impossible to hold: Women and culture in the 1960s. Journal of American Studies 40:156-159. |
| Article in an Online Journal |
Just like print journals, only adding the URL and also the access date in parentheses at the end if required by your professor or discipline. T: (Hlatky et al. 2002) R: Hlatky, Mark A., Derek Boothroyd, Eric Vittinghoff, Penny Sharp, and Mary A. Whooley. 2002. Quality-of-life and depressive symptoms in postmenopausal women after receiving hormone therapy. Journal of the American Medical Association 287, no. 5 (February 6), http://jama.ama-assn.org/issues/v287n5/rfull/joc10108.html#aainfo(accessed January 7, 2004). |
| Article in an Online Database |
This is the same as for online journals as listed above, including use of access date. Also include the URL of the main entrance of the database. T: (Thomas 1956, 71) R: Thomas, Trevor M. Wales: Land of Mines and Quarries. Geographical Review 46, no. 1 (1956): 59-81. http://www.jstor.org/. |
| Entire Website |
Websites may be cited in running text ("According to the National Weather Service's website, warmer temperatures may be expected...") instead of in a note, and they are commonly omitted from the reference list as well. The following examples show the more formal version of the citations. Add the date the material was last accessed for time-sensitive data or if you are required. T: (National Weather Service) R: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. NOAA's National Weather Service. U.S. Dept. of Commerce. http://www.nws.noaa.gov/ (accessed January 17, 2010). |
|
Magazine |
T: (Reed 2006, 21) R: Reed, Stanley. 2006. Seeing past the war. Business Week, August 21. |
|
Newspaper |
Newspaper articles may be cited in running text (“As William Niederkorn noted in a New York Times article on June 20, 2002, . . . ”) instead of in a note or an in-text citation, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography or reference list as well. The following examples show the more formal version of the citations. T: (Seward 2006) R: Seward, Zachary. 2006. Colleges expand early admissions. Wall Street Journal. December 14. Eastern edition. |
For additional examples, see pages 247-254 in the Turabian Manual (2007).
The Bibliography Style is preferred by many in the humanities (e.g., literature, history, and the arts). This style presents bibliographic information in notes (either footnotes or endnotes) and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.
NOTE: If the bibliography includes all works cited in the notes, the note citations can be quite concise, since readers can turn to the bibliography for publication details. In works with no bibliography or only a selected list, full details must be given in a note at first mention of any work cited. Subsequent citations of that work may then be concise.
Each example includes a note [N] followed by a bibliographic entry [B]. After the first book entry, all Note examples will use the full version. To make it concise, use just the author's last name(s), the main title, and page number(s).
|
Book: |
First note citation in a paper with full bibliography or subsequent citations with or without: First note citation in a paper without full bibliography: B: Gutman, Robert W. Mozart: A Cultural Biography. New York: Harcourt Brace, 1999. |
|
Book: |
N: 7. Randolph Hock and Gary Price, The Extreme Searcher’s Internet Handbook: A Guide for the Serious Searcher (Medford: CyberAge Books, 2004), 93-4. B: Hock, Randolph, and Gary Price. The Extreme Searcher’s Internet Handbook: A Guide for the Serious Searcher.Medford: CyberAge Books, 2004. |
|
Book: |
N: 2. William Davidson et al., Retailing Management, 6th ed. (New York: Wiley, 1988), 149. B: Davidson, William, Daniel Sweeney, Thomas Jones, and Ronald Stampfl. Retailing Management. 6th ed. New York: Wiley, 1988. |
|
Book: |
If no personal author's name is listed on the title page, the organization/corporation is listed as author, even if it is also given as publisher. N: 5. JIST Works, NAICS Desk Reference, 73. B: JIST Works. NAICS Desk Reference: The North American Industry Classification System Desk Reference. Indianapolis: JIST Works, 2000. |
| Book: Multivolume |
When citing the work as a whole, give the total number of volumes after the title (or editor). If published over several years, give the range of years. N: 8. Wright, Evolution and the Genetics of Populations. 4 vols. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1968-78, 2:341. B: Wright, Sewell. Evolution and the Genetics of Populations. 4 vols. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1968-78. When citing only one volume: N: Sewell Wright, Evolution and the Genetics of Populations, vol. 2, Theory of Gene Frequencies (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1969), 341. B: Wright, Sewell. Theory of Gene Frequencies. Vol. 2, Evolution and the Genetics of Populations. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1969. |
|
Chapter in a Book |
N: 6. Robert F. Willson, Jr., "William Shakespeare's Theater," in The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005), 52-3. B: Willson, Jr., Robert F. "William Shakespeare's Theater." In The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students, edited by Joseph Rosenblum, 47-64. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005. |
|
Book Published Electronically |
If a book is available in more than one format, you should cite the version you consulted, but you may also list the other formats, as in the second example below. If an access date is required by your publisher or discipline, include it parenthetically at the end of the citation, as in the first example below. N: 3. Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds., The Founders’ Constitution (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987), http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/ (accessed June 27, 2006). B: Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/. Also available in print form and as a CD-ROM. |
For additional examples, see pages 162-181 in the Turabian Manual (2007).
Journals vs Magazines: Journals are normally cited by volume and date, while magazines are normally cited by date alone. If in doubt whether a particular periodical is a journal or magazine, use the journal format if the volume number is easily located, and the magazine format if it is not.
|
Journal with Issue Number Available |
N: 1. Carolyn Simmons and Karen Becker-Olsen, "Achieving Marketing Objectives through Social Sponsorships,"Journal of Marketing 70, no. 4 (2006): 161. B: Simmons, Carolyn, and Karen Becker-Olsen. "Achieving Marketing Objectives through Social Sponsorships."Journal of Marketing, 70, no. 4 (2006): 154-169. |
|
Journal with no Issue Number |
N: 4. Sarah Graham, "Impossible to Hold: Women and Culture in the 1960s." Journal of American Studies 40 (2006): 157. B: Graham, Sarah. "Impossible to Hold: Women and Culture in the 1960s." Journal of American Studies 40 (2006):156-159. |
| Article in an Online Journal |
Just like print journals, only adding the URL and also the access date in parentheses at the end if required by your professor or discipline. N: 2. Mark A. Hlatky et al., "Quality-of-life and depressive symptoms in postmenopausal women after receiving hormone therapy," Journal of the American Medical Association 287, no. 5 (2002),http://jama.ama-assn.org/issues/v287n5/rfull/joc10108.html#aainfo. B: Hlatky, Mark A., Derek Boothroyd, Eric Vittinghoff, Penny Sharp, and Mary A. Whooley. "Quality-of-Life and Depressive Symptoms in Postmenopausal Women after Receiving Hormone Therapy." Journal of the American Medical Association 287, no. 5 (February 6, 2002),http://jama.ama-assn.org/issues/v287n5/rfull/joc10108.html#aainfo (accessed January 7, 2004). |
| Article in an Online Database |
This is the same as for online journals as listed above, including use of access date. Also include the URL of the main entrance of the service. N: 17. Trevor M. Thomas, "Wales: Land of Mines and Quarries," Geographical Review 46, no. 1 (1956): 71, http://www.jstor.org/. B: Thomas, Trevor M. "Wales: Land of Mines and Quarries." Geographical Review 46, no. 1 (1956): 59-81. http://www.jstor.org/. |
| Entire Website |
Websites may be cited in running text ("According to the National Weather Service's website, warmer temperatures may be expected...") instead of in a note, and they are commonly omitted from the bibliography as well. The following examples show the more formal version of the citations. Add the date the material was last accessed for time-sensitive data or if you are required. N: 13. “Internet Weather Source,” National Weather Service, http://www.nws.noaa.gov/. B: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. "NOAA's National Weather Service." U.S. Dept. of Commerce. http://www.nws.noaa.gov/ (accessed January 17, 2010). |
|
Magazine |
If article is from an online magazine, add the URL after the date and, if required or for time-sensitive data, the date the material was last accessed (see second "B" example). N: 4. Stanley Reed, "Seeing Past the War," Business Week, August 21, 2006, 21. B: Reed, Stanley. "Seeing Past the War." Business Week, August 21, 2006. B: Reed, Stanley. "Seeing Past the War." Business Week, August 21, 2006.http://www.businessweek.com/news/2006-08-21/seeing-past-the-war.html (accessed October 3, 2006). |
|
Newspaper |
Newspaper articles may be cited in running text (“As William Niederkorn noted in a New York Times article on June 20, 2002, . . . ”) instead of in a note, and they are commonly omitted from the bibliography as well. The following examples show the more formal version of the citations. N: 3. Zachary Seward, "Colleges Expand Early Admissions," Wall Street Journal, December 14, 2006, eastern edition. B: Seward, Zachary. "Colleges Expand Early Admissions." Wall Street Journal. December 14, 2006, eastern edition. |
For additional examples, see pages 247-254 in the Turabian Manual (2007).
The Chicago Manual of Style Online blog is an authoritative source on the application of Chicago style to sources and formatting. Following is their blog post regarding using and citing text generated by ChatGPT and other AI text generation apps.
You should always prioritize your instructor's guidelines for papers and projects, and if they have not explicitly stated how you might use ChatGPT and other AI apps, you should ask before proceeding to use them..
Contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.