LibGuides: Children and Adolescent Literature: Research Resources

Library Journals Online

The following journals used for collection development are available in the library serials collection and Academic Search Complete.

Be sure to check the catalog for holding availability and format and the electronic version for specific embargo periods.

What is an embargo period? The time between hard copy publication and database availability.

Review Resource Links

Children's literature book reviews are also available on-line in varying capacities; these links are a good place to start. Keep in mind that on-line resources may only offer a sampling of the review without a journal subscription.

The ALAN Review
"The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents is an independent assembly of NCTE. Founded in November 1973, ALAN is made up of teachers, authors, librarians, publishers, teacher-educators and their students ..."
The Bulletin
"Welcome to the homepage of The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, one of the nation's leading children's book review journals for school and public librarians. " More ...
The Horn Book
Publications about books for children and young adults
Kirkus Reviews Online
Publishers Weekly

Best Databases

Academic Search Complete (EDS) This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

EBSCOhost
Search within a single database or select more than one database for your search. Just check the boxes next to the database and hit continue.

Education Full Text (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts, and full text covering contemporary education issues.
Education Research Complete (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.
Primary Search (for elementary school students) (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts, and full text for popular elementary school magazines.

eBooks

Children's literature collections : approaches to research by Keith O'Sullivan and Padraic Whyte, editors.
ISBN: 9781137603111
Publication Date: 2017
This book provides scholars, both national and international, with a basis for advanced research in children's literature in collections. Examining books for children published across five centuries, gathered from the collections in Dublin, this unique volume advances causes in collecting, librarianship, education, and children's literature studies more generally.
Children's literature about refugees : a catalyst in the classroom by Julia Hope
ISBN: 9781858566962
Publication Date: 2017
Julia Hope explores ways of engaging in class with the growing field of children[']s books about refugees. Fiction provides the perfect conduit for the experiences of refugees so that young refugee students feel their experiences are validated, and their peers come to understand their situation. As more and more people flee wars, violence and political oppression, this book gives teachers both pedagogical support and knowledge of the resources and shows how they can tackle this challenging topic.
The Edinburgh companion to children's literature by Clémentine Beauvais and Maria Nikolajeva, editors
ISBN: 9781474414630
Publication Date: 2017, 2018.
This collection takes informed and scholarly readers to the utmost frontier of children's literature criticism, from the intricate worlds of children's poetry, picturebooks and video games to the new theoretical constellations of critical plant studies, non-fiction studies and big data analyses of literature.
Frontiers in american children's literature by Dorothy Clark and Linda Salem, editors
ISBN: 9781443887977
Publication Date: 2016