Skip to Main Content

Children and Adolescent Literature: Coretta Scott King

A guide featuring information about the library's juvenile and young adult collectionss , including information on award winners, Caldecott, Newbery, Coretta Scott King and more.

Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

From the Coretta Scott King Book Awards home page:

“The CSK Award has grown since its inception in the late 1960s. At its humble inception at the May 1970 dinner gala of the New Jersey Library Association, Lillie Patterson was honored for her biography, Martin Luther King, Jr. Man of Peace. In 1972, CSK held its first breakfast at an ALA conference site (but without ALA recognition). Official affiliation with SRRT came in 1980 and in 1982 the American Library Association recognized the Coretta Scott King Award as an association award.”

CSK Illustrator Awards

Why are there no illustrator awards for the early 1970's?

Prior to 1974 the Coretta Scott King Awards were given to authors only.  The first illustrator award was presented in 1974 and in 1978 was presented with more regularity (no award in 1985).

Awards 2020 -

Year Author Illustrator



2022 Unspeakable
2021 Before the Ever After.
“R-E-S-P-E-C-T: Aretha Franklin, The Queen of Soul
2020 New Kid
The Undefeated

Awards 2010 - 2019

Year Author Illustrator
2019           A few red drops  The stuff of stars
2018  Piecing me together  Out of wonder
2017  March: Book three Radiant child: the story of young artist Jean-Michel Basquiat
2016 Gone Crazy in Alabama  Trombone Shorty 
2015 Brown Girl Dreaming Firebird: ballerina Misty Copeland shows a young girl how to dance

P.S. Be Eleven

Knock, Knock: My Dad's Dream For Me
2013 Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America
I, Too, Am America
2012 Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans
Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom
2011 One Crazy Summer
Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave
2010 Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshall
My People

Awards: 2000 - 2009

Year Author Illustrator
2009               We Are the Ships: The Story of Negro League Baseball

The Blacker the Berry
2008 Elijah of Buxton

Let it Shine

2007 Copper Sun

Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom

2006 Day of Tears


2005 Remember: The Journey to School Integration

Ellington Was Not a Street

2004 The First Part

Beautiful Blackbird

2003 Bronx Masquerade

Talkin' About Bessie: The Story of Aviator Elizabeth Coleman

2002 The Land

Goin' Someplace Special

2001 Miracle's Boys


2000 Bud, Not Buddy

In the Time of the Drums

Awards 1990 - 1999

Year Author Illustrator
1999               Heaven

I See the Rhythm
1998 Forged By Fire

In Daddy's Arms I am Tall: African Americans Celebrating Fathers

1997 Slam

Minty: A Story of Young Harriet Tubman 

1996 Her Stories

The Middle Passage: White Ships Black Cargo

1995 Christmas in thte Big House, Christmas in th Quarters

The Creation

1994 Toning the Sweep

Soul Looks Back in Wonder

1993 Dark Thirty: Southern Tales of the Supernatural

The Origin of Life on Earth: An African Creation Myth

1992 Now is Your Time: The African American Struggle for Freedom

All Night, All Day: A Child's First Book of African American Spirituals
1991 The Road to Memphis


1990 A Long Hard Journey: The Story of the Pullman Porter

Nathaniel Talking

Awards 1980 - 1989

Year Author Illustrator
1989            Fallen Angels

Mirandy and Brother Wind

1988 The Friendship Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters: An African Tale

1987 Justin and the Best Biscuits in the World

Half a Moon and One Whole Star
1986 The People Could Fly: American Black Folktales

The Patchwork Quilt

1985 Motown and Didi

No Award Given
1984 Everett Anderson's Good-Bye

My Mama Needs Me
1983 Sweet Whispers

Black Child
1982 Let the Circle Be Unbroken

Mother Crocodile: An Uncle Amadou Tale from Sengal
1981 This is Life Grandmama's Joy
1980    The Young Landlords Cornrows

Awards 1970 - 1979

Year Author Illustrator
1979          Escape to Freedom Something on My Mind
1978 African Dreamer African Dream
1977 The Story of Stevie Wonder No Award Given
1976 Duey's Tale No Award Given
1975 The Legend of Africana No Award Given
1974 Ray Charles Ray Charles
1973 I Never Had it Made: The Autobiography of Jackie Robinson  
1972 17 Black Artists  
1971 Black Troubador: Langston Hughes  
1970 Martin Luther King Jr: Man of Peace