The Friends Collection at Malone University contains a wide variety of books, documents, and other items of interest to the Friends community and others who seek to learn more about Quaker spiritual life and lifestyle, beliefs and doctrines. It spans the centuries from the 1600s to the present time, and covers the lives of Friends in various areas of the world. The collection also includes family papers, genealogies, and biographies for those seeking to learn more about the Friends.
The collection is housed on the third floor of Cattell Library. Additional resources are located in the Lower Level as part of the Friends Historical Archives. The library staff is available to help interested individuals find what they need. You can reach us through online chat option on our homepage, email, or phone.
Items in the Friends Library have ben assigned call numbers according to a cataloging system created just for this collection. Items deemed rare or fragile are stored separately. Contact a librarian for assistance.
FRIENDS LIBRARY CLASSIFICATION SUMMARY
7602-7613 Associations, Societies, Directories, Yearbooks, Calendars, Conferences, etc.
7615 Yearly Meeting Minutes
7617 Disciplines, Advices, Queries
7619 Epistles, Addresses, Yearly Meetings
7620 Local Meetings (Quarterly, Monthly, Preparative, etc.)
7624 Collections of Sermons, Tracts, Essays, Lectures, Series, Hymns by several authors (For individual authors see 7730-7774)
7630-7638 Education, Schools and Colleges, Scripture Teaching and Study, etc.
7640-7645 Social Work, Charities, Social Problems, American Friends Service Committee, Slavery, Race Relations, etc.
7650-7654 History and General Works
7655-7665 North America, United States
7667-7685 World, Individual Continents and Countries
7690-7698 Doctrines, Sermons, Ministry, Manner of Life and Customs, Specific Topics (examples: Inner Light, Prayer, Silent Waiting, Simplicity, Temperance, etc.)
7700 Devotional Literature, Meditations by Friends
7701-7706 Friends and Specific Wars (Examples: Civil War, WWII, Vietnam, etc.)
7708 Missions
7710-7717 Controversies, Separations, Various Branches of Friends
7720 Memorials, Collection Biographies
7721 Family Histories
7722-7726 Literature, Drama, Poetry, Fiction with Quaker characters, Juvenile non-fiction
7730-7744 Individual Authors, 1600-1799
7745-7759 Individual Authors, 1800-1999
7760-7774 Individual Authors, 2000—
7795 Anti-Quaker works
7796 Works Defending Friends
7798 Writings by non-Quakers with some Quaker Connection
