LibGuides: Linguistics: Library Resources

Search Everything: EBSCO Discovery Service

An all-inclusive search solution that makes in-depth research easy. The platform offers sophisticated features and functionality that anticipate user intent, helping them get to exactly what they are looking for quickly and easily.

Citing Sources

Don't fear the citation process.

Check out our Citation Style Guide for examples and links for formatting in MLA, APA,
Chicago Turabian and more.

Open Access Journals

Linguistic Society of America
The LSA publishes scholarly journals and other peer-reviewed research focused on the scientific study of language.
Glossa
The journal is dedicated to general linguistics. It publishes contributions from all areas of linguistics, provided they contain theoretical implications that shed light on the nature of language and the language faculty. Contributions should be of interest to all linguists, independently of their own specialization.

Google Scholar

Library Materials

EBSCOhost
Search within a single database or select more than one database for your search. Just check the boxes next to the database and hit continue.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EDS) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media.
ProQuest Dissertationsand Theses This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Also known as the EJC, it includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.

An introduction to language by Victoria Fromkin et. al.
Call Number: 400 F92a10
ISBN: 9781133310686
Publication Date: 2014
Assuming no prior knowledge of linguistics, AN INTRODUCTION TO LANGUAGE, Tenth Edition, is appropriate for a variety of fields--including education, languages, psychology, cognitive science, anthropology, English, and teaching English as a Second Language (TESL)--at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.
American Indian languages : cultural and social contexts by Shirley Silver and Wick R. Miller.
Call Number: 306.44 Si3a
ISBN: 0816518025
Publication Date: 1997
God beyond gender : feminist Christian God-language by Gail Ramshaw
Call Number: 264.0014 R14g
ISBN: 0800627741
Publication Date: 1995

The Cambridge handbook of Arabic linguistics by Karin Christina Ryding, David Wilmsen, editors
ISBN: 9781108417303
Publication Date: 2021
With contributions from internationally renowned experts on the language, this handbook provides a state-of-the-art overview of both traditional and modern topics in Arabic linguistics.
The Cambridge handbook of heritage languages and linguistics by Silvina Montrul, Maria Polinsky, editors
ISBN: 9781108487269
Publication Date: 2021
Definitions of heritage languages include the languages of migrant, indigenous, and national minorities.
Creativity and universality in language by Mirko Degli Esposti, Eduardo G. Altmann, François Pachet, editors.
ISBN: 9783319244013
Publication Date: 2016
This book collects research contributions concerning quantitative approaches to characterize originality and universality in language.
Explorations into Chinese as a second language by Istvan Kecskes, editor.
ISBN: 9783319540269
Publication Date: 2017
This volume explores how linguistic research can support the teaching and learning of Chinese as a second language.
Hispanic linguistics : current issues and new directions by Alfonso Morales-Front, Michael J. Ferreira, Ronald P. Leow, Cristina Sanz, editors
ISBN: 9789027205421
Publication Date: 2020
This volume addresses a wide range of phenomena including intonation, restructuring, clitic climbing, aspectual structure, subject focus marking, code-switching, lenition, loanwords, and heritage learning that are central in Hispanic linguistics today
A history of African linguistics by H. Ekkehard Wolff, editor
ISBN: 9781108417976
Publication Date: 2019
Providing inside views of African linguistic research and its ramifications over time, active researchers in its various subfields present highly informative accounts of current and past research priorities and achievements.
Linguistics for the age of AI by Marjorie McShane and Sergei Nirenburg
ISBN: 9780262045582
Publication Date: 2021
An explanation of a knowledge-based system for creating computational agents with human-like language ability

Annual Review of Cognitive Linguistics
The Annual Review of Cognitive Linguistics (published under the auspices of the Spanish Cognitive Linguistics Association) aims to establish itself as an international forum for the publication of high-quality original research on all areas of linguistic enquiry from a cognitive perspective.
Applied Linguistics
Concerned with the relationship between theory and practice, covers work applying theoretical studies to practical problems.
International Journal of American Linguistics
Studies of all aspects of the native languages of the Americas; description, history, typology, and linguistic theory accepted in any language

Journal of Chinese Linguistics
Journal of Chinese Linguistics is an academic journal mainly in English, which comprises research content from both general linguistics and Chinese linguistics (Languages in China)

Journal of Linguistics
A triannual peer-reviewed academic journal covering all branches of theoretical linguistics.
Journal of Pragmatics
Provides a forum for bringing together a wide range of research in pragmatics, including cognitive pragmatics, corpus pragmatics, experimental pragmatics, historical pragmatics, interpersonal pragmatics, multimodal pragmatics, sociopragmatics, theoretical pragmatics and related fields.
Language & Linguistics Compass
Covers surveys of current research across the entire discipline.

Language in Society
Language in Society is an international journal of sociolinguistics concerned with language and discourse as aspects of social life.

Linguistics
Peer-reviewed coverage of the traditional disciplines of linguistics as well as in neighboring disciplines
Morphology
Presents articles that contribute to the further articulation of morphological theory and linguistic theory in general, and provide new and unexplored data. In-depth analyses of specific languages and comparative, cross-linguistic, analyses of the relevant facts offer relevant empirical evidence for the theoretical claims made in the journal.
Sign Language & Linguistics
Discussions of sign languages in the larger context of natural language, cross-linguistically & cross-modally. Investigates knowledge of grammar based on the study of SL & addresses the effect of modality (signed vs. spoken) on the structure of grammar.
SKASE Journal of Theoretical Linguistics
Contains synchronic research into phonology, inflectional morphology, word-formation, lexical semantics, syntax, psycholinguistics, cognitive linguistics, sociolinguistics, corpus linguistics, discourse analysis, & other areas of linguistic research.
Topics in Linguistics
Features articles in the areas of intercultural communication, critical discourse analysis, pragmatics and sociolinguistics.
Word & Text: A Journal of Literary Studies & Linguistics
Includes essays and reviews in English and French which explore general critical theory and its application to literature and culture, as well as general and applied linguistics.

Subject Headings/Search Terms

Whether you're searching the OPAL online catalog or databases, here are some specific subject headiings and search terms you may find useful when trying to locate articles on your topic:

Advertising -- language
African languages -- Influence on English
Americanisms
American Sign Language
Animal Communication
Autistic children -- Language.

Bible -- Language style
Bilingualism
Bilingualism -- Psychological aspects
Bilingualism in children.
Black English
Business communication

College students -- United States -- Slang
Communication in families
Communication - - Language
Corpora (Linguistics)

Dialect literature, American -- History and criticism
Discourse analysis

Education, Bilingual
English language -- Accents and accentuation
English language -- Dialects -- Social aspects
English language -- Etymology
English language -- History
English language -- Jargon
English language -- Phonology
English language -- Religious aspects
English language -- Rhetoric
English language -- Slang
English language -- Southern States.
English language -- Synonyms and antonyms
Ethnic identity
English language -- Study and teaching -- African American students.

Historical linguistics

Indo-European languages -- Etymology.
Indo-European languages -- Semantics.

Linguistics
Language acquisition
Language attrition
Language and emotions
Language and languages -- Etymology
Language maintenance
Language obsolescence
Language in the workplace
Linguistics -- History
Language and culture
Linguistics - - (country)
Liturgical language -- English
Language disorders
Learning in animals
Lexicology

Mammals -- Behavior
Mass media and language.
Metaphor in the Bible
Metaphor inliterature
Metaphor -- Social aspects
Multicultural education
Multilingualism.

Parent-Child Relations

Racism in language

Second language acquisition
Sexism in language
Sexism in liturgical language.
Social behavior in animals
Sociolinguistics

Women -- Language