LibGuides: Federal Reserve : Introduction

Money Tree

Banking Laws and Regulations

"Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation." Code of Federal Regulations, Title 12, "Banks and Banking," Chapter III.
Compilation of Basic Banking Laws Within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Financial Services: Prepared for the Use of the Committee on Financial Services, U.S. House of Representatives. "Committee Print 107-C." (Washington, DC: U.S.G.P.O., 2001) (http://financialservices.house.gov/media/pdf/bankcomp.pdf)
Banking: An Overview." Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute.
Concise narrative overview, links to statutes, agency regulations, and judicial decisions (Federal and state); and links to additional key internet resources.
FDIC - Failed Bank List
The FDIC is often appointed as receiver for failed banks. This page contains useful information for the customers and vendors of these banks. This includes information on the acquiring bank (if applicable), how your accounts and loans are affected, and how vendors can file claims against the receivership.
Securities & Exchange Commission
The SEC requires public companies, including publicly-traded banks, to disclose specific financial and other information to the public. Banks also engage in securities underwriting and securities brokering, which are activities regulated by the SEC.
Statistics On Banking: Historical.

Additional Resources

Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN)
Discusses money laundering and investigations into money laundering activities. Contains press releases and publications.
International Anti-Corruption Law Research Guide
From the Georgetown Law School Library. "This guide covers electronic and print resources on corruption law. Corruption law touches on a wide variety of issues including money laundering, government transparency, organized crime, trade and investment regulations. Corruption law can frequently incorporate aspects of comparative, international and foreign law."

Know Your Money - United States Secret Service

Federal Reserve Resources

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
has links to jobs, economic research and data, and publications.
Twelve branches of the Federal Reserve system.
Federal Reserve Education
Provides an introduction to the Federal Reserve system, other educational resources and links to other sites
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, provides over 3,000 U.S. economic time series downloadable in excel and text.
Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
Fed In Print
This database provides access to research published by the Board of Governors and all 12 Federal Reserve Banks. Coverage includes the core economic reviews, as well as specialized regional and international publications, working papers, and annual report essays. Also included are selected speeches, community development publications, and conference papers.
Flow of Funds Guide
This interactive documentation serves as a guide to the data compiled and published as part of the “Flow of Funds Accounts of the United States” (Z.1) data release and the Integrated Macroeconomic Accounts. This comprehensive documentation system is designed to help a user understand the links between series and underlying source data by providing the capability to search or browse the vast amount of information underlying the Z.1 and the Integrated Macroeconomic Accounts.
Economic Report of the President
An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers.
Budget of the United States Government
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year.
Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
The Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland is one of twelve regional Reserve Banks that together with the Board of Governors in Washington, DC, make up the Federal Reserve System, the central bank of the United States.
The Cleveland Reserve Bank, including branch offices in Cincinnati and Pittsburgh, serves the Fourth Federal Reserve District (Ohio, western Pennsylvania, the northern panhandle of West Virginia, and eastern Kentucky).

FRB: Press Release (RSS)

Subject Guide

Kristine Owens

Email Me

Federal Reserve Kid's Page

Answers basic questions about the Federal Reserve for kid's (and adults too!)

Click on the eagle for access.

The Fed iPad App

An official app of the United States Federal Reserve System is now available(external) for your iPad! It allows you access to a wide range of information from the Federal Reserve System Board of Governors and the 12 regional Reserve Banks. Easy-to-navigate and well-designed, the app opens with a map of the Federal Reserve System. Simply tap different areas of the map to get links to the latest news releases, research and data, speeches, videos, Congressional testimony and Tweets from each of the regional Reserve Banks or from Fed headquarters in Washington, D.C. This app is a must-have for anyone interested in the work of the nation's central bank.

Federal Reserve : Introduction