Databases/Scholarly Journals - PE 418 - Outdoor Leadership

Suggested Search Terms

A few suggested search terms to help you locate articles for your research paper. Put in the first term and add "and" to terms to limit your search.

Environmentalism (and United States and Authorship)
Experiential education
Nattional Parks (and United States)
Naturalists (and Biography and History and criticism)
Nature conservation (and United States and History)
Nature and effect of human beings on
Nature in literature
Nature (and Literary collections)
Outdoor leadership
Outdoor recreation
Recreation leadership
Wilderness areas (and United States)
Wilderness conservation
Wilderness management

Inter-Library Loan (ILL) Request Form

ILL Request Form

Library Databases

Business Source Complete (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business publications.

EBSCOhost
Select and search within a single database or select more than one database for your search. Just check the boxes next to the database and hit continue.

Environment Complete (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts and full text of articles on environmental studies.
GreenFILE (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts and full text of articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window An index of papers presented at conferences. It cites the papers from every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library Document Supply Centre
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) (EDS) This link opens in a new window Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
TOPICsearch (EDS) This link opens in a new window Full text covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

Scholarly Journals

Click here to see a list of periodicals and journals to which the Malone Library currently subscribes.You can also click on the Journals A-Z link, to search the online journal database, or select one of the titles listed below.

Green Teacher
Covers teaching methods, philosophy, resources in the areas of environmental and global education for elementary and secondary teachers.
Journal of Environmental Education
Peer reviewed coverage of environmental education topics, including case studies of relevant projects, evaluation of new research, and discussion of public policy and philosophy. Written for teaching professionals in the area of environmental education.
Journal of Experiential Education
Covers outdoor adventure programming, service learning, experimental school-based programming, environmental education, cultural journalism, internships & the creative arts.
Journal of Outdoor Recreation and Tourism
Search for this title in the Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
Sierra
Articles on conservation, energy, outdoor recreation and environmental concerns of Sierra Club members and others.

Literature Review

Health Benefits to Children From Contact with the Outdoors and Nature
These articles summarize literature related to outdoor and nature contact and children’s health and well-being.
Research and Studies - November 2011
An annotated bibliography

PE 418 - Outdoor Leadership: Databases/Scholarly Journals

Suggested Search Terms

Inter-Library Loan (ILL) Request Form

Library Databases

Scholarly Journals

Literature Review