Skip to Main Content

Library FAQ... (Frequently Asked Questions) and more!: Library Services

Answers to the most asked questions by students and library patrons concerning library resources.

Library Services

Computers and More
In addition to computer workstations and study space, the library also makes copiers (including color) available for student use. These copiers have a scan feature which allows users to scan in items and email them. Headsets are also available for check-out.

Electronic Databases
Students can conduct their own database searches in over one-hundred computer-based periodical indexes and reference databases. Many of the databases that are accessed through OhioLINK provide the full text of journal articles. Other full text is available through additional databases Malone buys and the Electronic Journal Center. Students and faculty can access many of the databases from home by using the links on the library website.

Information Literacy

The library is committed to supporting information literacy through bibliographic instruction, faculty/classroom interaction, personal assistance and web-based tutorials. Through the library liaison program, librarians with specific subject specializations can provide academic departments with personalized service.

Interlibrary Loan
Malone patrons can borrow items from other OPAL and OhioLINK libraries with a current Malone library ID either by ordering the items through the OPAL or OhioLINK catalog or by visiting those libraries in person. Most items circulate for 3 weeks with 6 possible renewals. Items cannot be renewed if anyone else places a hold on them. Videos and DVD's are due in 1 week with no renewals.

Current Malone students and employees can also request books not available anywhere in OhioLINK and periodical articles not full text online or housed in the Malone library, by completing an interlibrary loan request form at the circulation desk.

Reference Service
A reference librarian is available during most of the hours the library is open to answer questions and provide assistance with searching and electronic databases. An e-mail reference service is also available to Malone University students, faculty, and staff.

Off Campus Access Issues

Provided that a database is available for off campus access, the following steps resolve most connectivity issues:

  1. For database access from home/work make sure you use the Malone library website and access the databases through the Research and Journal Resources link; otherwise, the system will not recognize you as a Malone student.
  2. If you're still having access problems, you can call the library for assistance at 330-471-8557 or the Malone IT department at 330-471-8428. In some cases it's a home or work firewall or other settings that prevents the authentication and malone's IT staff can help you work out the bugs.
  3. Our consortium is part of OPAL. If the library catalog is down the OPAL help desk can be reached at OhioNet by email or phone 1-800-686-8975.

Checking Your Account

Check your account to see what books you may have out, any fines, status of material requests and more.

Renewing Items
You can renew borrowed items online by going to the library homepage and clicking on the My Account link on the left side navigation link. The link is also located on every page of the OPAL catalog or you can go the library circulation desk, or call 330-471-8317.  Renewals may be blocked if fines are owed or the items have been requested by someone else.

Problems
For problems with your patron record please call the Malone University library circulation desk at 330-471-8317 and ask to speak with a circulation supervisor or email them at .