LibGuides: Government Information: Government Departments/Branches

Government Departments

Deparment of Agriculture
The official website for the Department of Agriculture.
Department of Commerce
The official website for the Department of Commerce.
Department of Defense
The official website for the Department of Defense.
Department of Justice
The official website for the Department of Justice.
Department of State
The official website for the Department of State.
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
An exhaustive list of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies, with official website links.

The Hill (Congressional news)

The Hill is a congressional newspaper that publishes daily when Congress is in session, with a special focus on business and lobbying

Government Branches

The Seal of the President of the United States is used to mark correspondence from the president of the United States to the U.S. Congress, and is also used as a symbol of the presidency itself. The central design, based on the Great Seal of the United States, is the official coat of arms of the U.S. presidency and also appears on the presidential flag. - Wikipedia

The White House
The official gateway to information relating to the President, the Vice President, the Cabinet, and other executive offices.
Executive Office of the President
Consists of various agencies that function to serve the interests and goals of the President.
The Federal Register (FR)
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature are made available.
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis. The current update status appears at the top of all e-CFR web pages

undefined The Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) is the highest court in the federal judiciary of the United States of America. It has ultimate (and largely discretionary) appellate jurisdiction over all federal and state court cases that involve a point of federal law, and original jurisdiction over a narrow range of cases, specifically "all Cases affecting Ambassadors, other public Ministers and Consuls, and those in which a State shall be Party".he Court holds the power of judicial review, the ability to invalidate a statute for violating a provision of the Constitution. It is also able to strike down presidential directives for violating either the Constitution or statutory law. However, it may act only within the context of a case in an area of law over which it has jurisdiction. The Court may decide cases having political overtones, but it has ruled that it does not have power to decide non-nonjudicial political questions. - Wikipedia

Supreme Court of the United States
The official site for the Supreme Court, containing case information, including decisions.
The Federal Judiciary
Information regarding the components of the Federal Judicial System: the U.S. Supreme Court, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the U.S. District Courts, and the U.S. Bankruptcy Courts
United States Reports
The bound volumes of the United States Reports contain the fourth and final generation of the Court's opinions. However, the materials collected here contain not just opinions, but the full text, from cover through index, of bound volumes 502 et seq., including all of the opinions, orders, and other materials issued for the Court's 1991 Term and subsequent years. Additional volumes will be included here after they are published in print form.

undefined The United States Congress is the bicameral legislature of the federal government of the United States, and consists of two chambers: the House of Representatives and the Senate. The Congress meets in the United States Capitol in Washington, D.C. Both senators and representatives are chosen through direct election, though vacancies in the Senate may be filled by a gubernatorial appointment. Congress has 535 voting members: 435 representatives and 100 senators. In addition, the House of Representatives currently has six non-voting members, bringing the total membership of the US Congress to 541 or fewer in the case of vacancies. - Wikipedia

United States Senate
The official website of the U.S. Senate includes information on members, committees, and more.
United States House of Representatives
The official House website contains information about Representatives, committees, text of the US Code and slip laws.
How Our Laws Are Made
Congress.gov
Contains text of bills from current and previous Congresses. Also has vote information, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, and more.
U.S. Congress Conference Reports
Contains the full text of conference reports from current and past Congressional sessions. (A conference report is an agreement on legislation that is negotiated between the House and Senate via conference committees. It is printed and submitted to each chamber for its consideration, such as approval or disapproval.)
Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress
Search for biographies of Senators and Representatives.
Virtual Reference Desk of the U.S. Senate
A clearinghouse of Senate information on the Web and guides to resources in libraries and archives.

United States Government Manual

United States Government Manual
This is the official handbook of the Federal Government. It provides comprehensive and authoritative information on the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.