LibGuides: Life Science Education: Zoo and Wildlife Biology

National Zoological Park (NZP) and Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI)

National Zoological Park (NZP)
Located on the grounds of the 160-acre Zoo in Washington, D.C. and the 3,100-acre campus of SCBI in Front Royal, Virginia, the Libraries supports research into species survival as well as the daily care and feeding of more than 2,400 animals of 350 different species. Opened in 1898, the library is one of the oldest in continuing existence at the Smithsonian. The Libraries’ print and online collections focus on topics such as genetics, comparative reproductive physiology, animal cognition, endocrinology, sustainability of endangered animal populations, conservation medicine, and biological diversity. Librarians also offer extensive training for staff on searching complex online databases that house medical and scientific publications.

A dictionary of zoology by Michael Allaby, editor
ISBN: 0192800760
Publication Date: 1999
Insect species conservation by T.R. New, Department of Zoology, La Trobe University, Australia.
ISBN: 9780521510776
Publication Date: 2009
Insects are the most diverse and abundant animals that share our world, and conservation initiatives are increasingly needed and being implemented globally, to safe guard the wealth of individual species. This book provides sufficient background information, illustrated by examples from many parts of the world, to enable more confident and efficient progress towards the conservation of these ecologically indispensable animals.
Collective animal behavior by David J.T. Sumpter
ISBN: 9780691129631
Publication Date: 2010
Exploring how coordinated group patterns emerge from individual interactions, Collective Animal Behavior reveals why animals produce group behaviors and examines their evolution across a range of species.
Wildlife-Habitat Relationships : Concepts and Applications by William Mannan.
ISBN: 9781597266338
Publication Date: 2006
Wildlife-Habitat Relationships goes beyond introductory wildlife biology texts to provide wildlife professionals and students with an understanding of the importance of habitat relationships in studying and managing wildlife.

Zoo Biology
Publication Date: 1997-present
Zoo Biology is concerned with reproduction, demographics, genetics, behavior, medicine, husbandry, nutrition, conservation and all empirical aspects of the exhibition and maintenance of wild animals in wildlife parks, zoos, and aquariums. This diverse journal offers a forum for effectively communicating scientific findings, original ideas, and critical thinking related to the role of wildlife collections and their unique contribution to conservation.
ZOOs' Print
Publication Date: 08/01/2011 to present
Covers subjects such as captive breeding, (wild) animal husbandry & management, conservation biology, population dynamics & genetics, conservation education & interpretation, wild animal welfare and conservation of flora.
International Journal of Insect Science
Publication Date: 01/01/2010 to present
Covers the ever expanding and economically important field of insect science.
JAPS: Journal of Animal & Plant Sciences
Publication Date: 12/01/2013 to present
Publishes original research papers, review, extension/clinical articles on all aspects of animal (including fisheries/wildlife) and plant sciences, agricultural economics, rural sociology and other related subjects.

Animal Diversity Web (ADW)
An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan
Cleveland Metroparks Zoo's Online Resource library
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
An ambitious, even audacious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth.
FishBase
FishBase is a global biodiversity information system on finfishes.FishBase covers >33,000 fish species compiled from >52,000 references in partnership with >2,000 collaborators: >300,000 common names and >55,000 pictures.
Map of Life (MOL)
The Map of Life assembles and integrates different sources of data describing species distributions worldwide.
U.S Fish and Wildlife Service
An agency of the US federal government within the US Department of the Interior dedicated to the management of fish, wildlife, and natural habitats.