LGBT Resources (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender): Introduction

"Two pastors offer compassionate, biblical answers about homosexuality and practical, real world advice on how to think and talk about this controversial issue with loved ones"-- Provided by publisher.

Is it possible to be an ex gay? Stanton L. Jones and Mark A. Yarhouse present social science research on homosexuality designed to answer the questions:
Can those who receive religiously-informed psychotherapy experience a change in their sexual orientation?
Are such programs harmful to participants?
The results show that outcomes for this kind of religiously-informed psychotherapy are similar to outcomes of therapy for other psychological problems.

Through her extensive experience in ministering to gay and lesbian Christians, Wendy VanderWal-Gritter has come to believe we need a new paradigm for how the church engages those in the sexual minority. She encourages generous spaciousness, a hope-filled, relational way forward for those in turmoil regarding a response to gay and lesbian Christians.

Feeling the tension between his understanding of the Bible and the reality of his same-sex orientation, Vines devoted years of intensive research into what the Bible says about homosexuality...Unique in its affirmation of both an orthodox faith and sexual diversity, God and the Gay Christian has sparked heated debate, sincere soul search­ing, and widespread cultural change on the issue of what it means to be a faithful gay Christian.

How prevalent is homosexuality? What causes it? Is it a psychopathology? Can it be changed? Questions like these often accompany discussions of homosexual behavior. For answers we naturally look to scientific studies. But what does the scientific research actually show? More important, what place should this research have in shaping the church's response? Stanton Jones and Mark Yarhouse help us face these issues squarely and honestly.

Describes Rogers' own change of mind and heart on the issue, charts the church's history of using biblical passages to oppress marginalized groups, argues for a Christ-centered reading of Scripture, debunks stereotypes about people who are LGBT, refutes the conventional wisdom about the texts that are often used against people who are LGBT, and presents ideas for how the church can heal itself and move forward again. A fascinating combination of personal narrative, theology, and church history, this book is essential reading for all concerned with the future of the church and the health of the nation.

"For sexual minority students on Christian college campuses, faith and sexuality can feel in acute tension. Yarhouse, Dean, Stratton, and Lastoria draw on their decades of experience to bring us a longitudinal study into what sexual minorities experience, hope for, and benefit from. Rich with both quantitative and qualitative data, here is an unprecedented opportunity to listen to sexual minorities in their own words."--Publisher.

Christians who are confused by the homosexuality debate raging in the US are looking for resources that are based solidly on a deep study of what Scripture says about the issue. In People to Be Loved, Preston Sprinkle challenges those on all sides of the debate to consider what the Bible says and how we should approach the topic of homosexuality in light of it.

Many Christians, entrenched in culture wars over sexual ethics, either ignore the existence of intersex persons or avoid the inherent challenge they bring to the assumption that everybody is born after the pattern of either Adam or Eve. DeFranza argues, from a conservative theological standpoint, that all people are made in the image of God -- male, female, and intersex -- and that we must listen to and learn from the voices of the intersexed among us.

Integrating the latest research within a Christian worldview, the authors explore sexual dysfunctions as well as various clinical issues and treatments. Not only have Yarhouse and Tan written a standard resource for Christian therapists and counselors, but they also challenge the church to talk more honestly and openly about the blessing of human sexuality.

As a teenager and young man, Justin Lee knew that he was called to a life in the evangelical Christian ministry. But Lee was also gay. He recalls the events-- his coming out to his parents, his experiences with the "ex-gay" movement, and his in-depth study of the Bible-- that led him, eventually, to self-acceptance. Lee provides practical guidance for all committed Christians who wonder how to relate to gay friends or family members-- or who struggle with their own sexuality.

No issue is more divisive or more pressing for the church today than homosexuality. Two Views on Homosexuality, the Bible, and the Church brings a fresh perspective to a well-worn debate.

The authors articulate the consistent orthodox view on homosexuality by presenting primary sources throughout Christian history and by interpreting the biblical texts in their cultural contexts.

Yarhouse offers a Christian perspective on transgender issues that eschews simplistic answers and appreciates the psychological and theological complexity. The result is a book that engages the latest research while remaining pastorally sensitive to the experiences of each person.

Mark Yarhouse, director of the Institute for the Study of Sexual Identity, helps youth ministers faithfully navigate the topic of sexual identity in a way that is honest, compassionate, and accessible. He offers practical and helpful ways to think about homosexuality along with suggestions for talking with people who experience same-sex attraction.

Brownson argues that Christians should reconsider whether or not the biblical strictures against same-sex relations as defined in the ancient world should apply to contemporary, committed same-sex relationships. He carefully analyzes each of the seven main texts that appear to address intimate same-sex relations, and in the process explores key concepts that inform our understanding of the texts, including patriarchy, complementarity, purity and impurity, honor and shame.

Explores how conservative Christian ideology reproduces homophobic attitudes and shares how Bible Belt gays negotiate these attitudes in their daily lives.

What does the Bible say about gay relationships? The majority view: God requires celebacy; the minority view: Gender isn't the deciding factor. This recording of a workshop given in 2011 by Justin Lee, executive director of the Gay Christian Network, describes his personal exploration not only of the most commonly-cited scripture passages on the issue of what the Bible says about homosexuality, but also many other passages he believes offer a very different picture. Through it all, he says, our goal should be to see what God really has to say, not to make the Bible fit our own preconceptions.

Through My Eyes provides a look at the role of today's young Christians in the gay debate: what they really think, how they perceive the church, and what they wish other Christians knew. Over two dozen young Christians agreed to share their private feelings, struggles, and experiences on camera. All of them have a personal stake in the debate. And all of them hoped that their stories might make a difference. Created for Christians by Christians, Through My Eyes tackles one of the most controversial topics, shining new light on the debate for people on both sides.

Brilliantly reconciles homosexuality and Biblical scripture, and reveals that religious anti-gay bias is based almost solely upon a misinterpretation of the Bible. Through the experiences of five very normal, Christian, American familes - including those of former House Majority Leader Richard Gephardt and Episcopal Bishop Gene Robinson - discover how people of faith handle the realization of having a gay child or family member.

02/01/2009 to present
Includes information about current events and news of interest to the gay and lesbian community.

11/02/2011 to present, with selective coverage back to 2000
Provides a forum for discussion & analysis of contemporary gay, lesbian & bisexual ideas & literature.

01/01/2003 to present
Features personal stories of lesbian, gay, bisexual, & transgender (LGBT) parents from across the country. International & domestic adoption, foster care, donor insemination, using a surrogate & what it is like to raise their children.

1999-present

01/01/1994 to present

01/01/2005 to present (with a 18 Month delay)
*Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")

07/01/1996 to 11/01/2014
Dedicated to the spiritual growth of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender Christians.

Library Has v.23:3(2011:July-Sept.)-v.26(2014) Use the Full-Text Finder to locate full-text online.
Latest Received: October 2014 - December 2014 v.26 no.4
The journal covers research related to sexual minorities and their social environment, including issues of homophobia and heterosexism and the personal, day-to-day experiences of people affected by these attitudes.