LibGuides: Criminal and Restorative Justice Resources: Library Resources/Databases

Library Materials

Just a sampling of what the library offers.

Advancing criminology and criminal justice policy by Thomas G. Blomberg, Julie Mestre Brancale, Kevin M. Beaver and William D. Bales, editors
Call Number: 364 Ad9b
ISBN: 9781138829220
Publication Date: 2016
"Advancing Criminology and Criminal Justice Policy is a definitive sourcebook that is comprised of contributions from some of the most recognized experts in criminology and criminal justice policy. The book is essential reading for students taking upper level courses and seminars on crime, public policy and crime prevention, as well as for policy makers within the criminal justice sphere.
Compassionate justice : an interdisciplinary dialogue with two gospel parables on law, crime, and restorative justice by Christopher D. Marshall
ISBN: 9781610978071
Publication Date: 2012
Two parables that have become firmly lodged in popular consciousness and affection are the parable of the Good Samaritan and the parable of the Prodigal Son. ..Compassionate Justice draws on the insights of restorative justice theory, legal philosophy, and social psychology to offer a fresh reading of these two great parables.
The little book of restorative justice : a bestselling book by one of the founders of the movement by Zehr, Howard
ISBN: 9781561488230
Publication Date: 2015
The seminal work on Restorative Justice by one of the founders of the movement, now fully revised and updated.
Restoring justice : an introduction to restorative justice by Daniel W. Van Ness, Karen Heetderks Strong.
Call Number: 364.68 V33r5
ISBN: 1455731390
Publication Date: 2015

Criminal Justice : a beginner's guide by Bryan Gibson
ISBN: 9781306563611
Publication Date: 2014
The handbook of social control by edited by Mathieu Deflem
ISBN: 9781119372356
Publication Date: 2019
Repositioning Restorative Justice : Restorative Justice, Criminal Justice and Social Context by Walgrave, L.
ISBN: 9781843920175
Publication Date: 2003
Rights and wrongs : rethinking the foundations of criminal justice by Heffernan, William C..
ISBN: 9783030127817
Publication Date: 2019
This book seeks to explain why the concept of justice is critical to the study of criminal justice.
The Wiley handbook of the history and philosophy of criminology by edited by Ruth Triplett.
ISBN: 9781119011354
Publication Date: 2018
The Wiley Handbook of the History and Philosophy of Criminology provides students, scholars, and criminologists with a truly a global perspective on the theory and practice of criminology throughout the centuries and around the world.

Criminal Justice
Publication Date: 04/01/2008 to present
Publishes articles with a focus on the practice and policy issues of the criminal justice system.
Criminal Justice Review (Georgia State University)
Publication Date: 03/01/1976 to present
Presents a broad perspective on criminal justice issues. Focuses on any aspect of crime & the justice system & can feature local, state, or national concerns
Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice
Publication Date: 1978-1978, 1980-1981, 1983-1984, 1987-present
Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology
Publication Date: 01/01/1993 to present
Original articles, research articles, practitioner essays, comment and reviews on all aspects of criminal law and criminology.
Current Issues in Criminal Justice
Publication Date: 03/01/2007 to present (with a 18 Month delay) *Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Contains analysis of the many aspects of criminal justice, contributed to by academics, researchers, & professionals; discusses national & international issues; features "Contemporary Comments," which are at the cutting edge of the crime & justice debate
Victims & Offenders
Publication Date: 02/01/2006 to present (with a 18 Month delay) *Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Provides an international and interdisciplinary forum of research, outcome studies, and evidence-based policies and practices on victimization, victim assistance, offender rehabilitation and treatment, and restorative justice.

Homeland Security Digital Library

a selection of recent scholarship from Project MUSE publishers on gun violence, its effect throughout the culture, and its possible solutions.
Without signing-in, you can search the Public Collection (107,100 resources).

Library Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EDS) This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center (EDS) This link opens in a new window
This database offers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. ISCTRC provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
Legal Collection (EDS) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on law and legal topics.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) (EDS) This link opens in a new window
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
his publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Coverage: 1984 - current