LibGuides: Environmental Studies: Introduction

Environmental Studies

Nature Writings

For resources on Nature Writings go here.

Library Resources

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (EDS) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 100 journals dating as far back as 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications dating back to 1983. Coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, animal sciences, biochemistry, biology, ecology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, marine biology, microbiology, paleontology and much more.
Environment Complete (EDS) This link opens in a new window
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
GreenFILE (EDS) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content, including hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.

These are just a few of the print and online materials available at Malone. Be sure to search ALL OPAL LIBRARIES and OhioLINK to find items you may be able to request through interlibrary loan.

A conservationist manifesto by Scott Russell Sanders
Call Number: 333.72 Sa5c
ISBN: 9780253220806
Publication Date: 2009
Ranging geographically from southern Indiana to the Boundary Waters Wilderness and culturally from the Bible to billboards, Sanders extends the visions of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and Rachel Carson to our own day. He shows the crucial relevance of a conservation ethic at a time of mounting concern about global climate change, depletion of natural resources, extinction of species, and the economic inequities between rich and poor nations. The important message of this book is that conservation is not simply a personal virtue but a public one.--From publisher description.
Environmental issues in American history : a reference guide with primary documents by Chris J. Magoc
Call Number: 333.7 M27e
ISBN: 9780313322082
Publication Date: 2006
Uses textual analysis, primary source documents, and an issues-centered approach to introduce American environmental history,
The plundered planet : why we must, and how we can, manage nature for global prosperity by Paul Collier
Call Number: 333.7 C68p
ISBN: 9780195395242
Publication Date: 2010
Collier builds upon his renowned work on developing countries and the world's poorest populations to confront the global mismanagement of natural resources.

Mother/nature : popular culture and environmental ethics by Catherine M. Roach
ISBN: 9780253215628
Publication Date: 2003
This brief but ambitious book explores the relationship with nature through the imagery we use when we talk about Mother Nature. Employing the critical tools of religious studies, psychology, and gender studies, Roach examines the various manifestations of nature as 'mother' and what that idea implies for the way we approach the natural world.
Environmental studies by Anindita Basak
ISBN: 9788131775639
Publication Date: 2009
Ecology of North America by Brian R. Chapman, Senior Research Scientist, Texas Research Institute for Environmental Studies, Sam Houston State University Huntsville, Texas and Eric G. Bolen, Professor Emeritus Department of Biology and Marien Biology, University of North Carolina Wilmington, Wilmington, North Carolina
ISBN: 9781118971543
Publication Date: 2015, 2nd ed.
North America contains an incredibly diverse array of natural environments, each supporting unique systems of plant and animal life. These systems, the largest of which are biomes, form intricate webs of life that have taken millennia to evolve. This richly illustrated book introduces readers to this extraordinary array of natural communities and their subtle biological and geological interactions. Completely revised and updated throughout, the second edition of this successful text takes a qualitative, intuitive approach to the subject, beginning with an overview of essential ecological te.

Green fire [videorecording] : Aldo Leopold and a land ethic for our time by Aldo Leopold Foundation, U.S. Forest Service, Center for Humans and Nature present ; a film by Ann Dunsky, Steve Dunsky, Dave Steinke ; executive producer, Buddy Huffaker ; writer, Stephen Most.
Call Number: 333.72 L55g
Publication Date: 2011
Examines the conservationist's life and legacy, examining ways his land ethic philosophy and vision of a community that cares about both people and land lives on in the work of individuals and organizations around the country today.

Environment
Publication Date: 01/01/1975 to present (with a 18 Month delay) *Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Presents articles on the problems of modern technology as they affect the environment.
Ecology
Publication Date: 1999-1999, 2001-2002, 2008-2008, 2010-2010, 2014-present
Publishes articles that report on the basic elements of ecological research.
Environmental Science & Technology
Publication Date: 1967-present
It covers research in environmental science and environmental technology, including environmental policy
Water Resources Research
Publication Date: 01/01/1996 - present
Available through Wiley Online Library eJournals (OhioLINK)
Nature
Publication Date: 06/05/1997 to 11/27/2015
Original research articles & letters, review articles, news of science in universities, industry & government, correspondence and opinion pieces.
Ecological Monographs
Publication Date: 03/01/1975 to present; 02/01/2015 to present (with a 12 Month delay) *Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Research and discussion papers that develop new concepts in ecology or test ecological theory with data from field and laboratory experiments, observations or simulations; original research or a reanalysis of published research.
Environmental Health Perspectives
Publication Date: 01/01/1999 to present
Published to research findings of environmental health significance and inform the scientific community of potential health hazards that are associated with particular elements in the environment.

Your Library Liaison

Kristine Owens

Email Me

Guide Images

Some of the images used throughtout this guide were selected from Google images.

Environmental Studies: Introduction

Environmental Studies

Nature Writings

Library Resources

Your Library Liaison

My Hours

Guide Images