For SCIE classes, references are formatted according to the name-year format in the Council of Biology Editors' (now Council of Science Editors, CSE) Scientific Style and Format:
Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers by Citation (used within the body of your paper)
| One or two authors | The evolution of the giraffe is often cited as verification of Darwin’s theory of natural selection (Gould 1996).
Giraffe spend the majority of their lives in areas where there are trees and bushes on which they can graze (Dagg and Foster 1982). According to Gould (1996) the evolution of the giraffe is often cited as verification of Darwin's theory of natural selection. |
| Three or more authors - List the first author (from the title page) followed by "et al." |
It was clear that drowning was secondary to the main problem, which was hypothermia (Wilkerson et al. 1986). |
| If the author(s) name(s) occur within the text, the year should follow in parentheses | Simmons and Scheepers (1996) conclude that sexual selection has been overlooked as an explanation for the giraffe’s long neck. |
| Direct quotation Identify the page number(s) |
“Parallel coevolution towards a smaller size, henceforth called evolutionary disarmament, occurs under the same ecological conditions where a single species would exhibit an evolutionary arms race” (Kisdi and Geritz 2001, p. 2589). |
| Several articles in one in-text reference - Chronological sequence, separated by semicolons. Sequence by month those published in the same year or alphabetically by author name if month is not available *Why is there a Smith GT and a Smith AL? The initials distinguish between 2 authors with the same last name who published in the same year. |
...and the main contributors (Dawson and Briggs 1974; Dawson and Jones 1974; Smith AL 1978; Smith GT 1978; Smith et al. 1978; Tyndall et al. 1978; Zymgomoski 1978; Brown 1980) established that...
|
| If you have more than one paper with the same author listed first: a) "include enough coauthor names in the in-text reference to eliminate ambiguity." b) If both articles have all identical authors, then, "add an alphabetic designator to the year in both the in-text reference and the end reference." |
a) ... x was the conclusion (Martinez, Fuentes, et al. 1990), however, this was refined in a later paper (Martinez, Fuentes, Ortiz, et al. 1990) b) Cold hardiness in cereals (Card et al. 2007a; Card et al. 2007b) is affected by ... |
CSE
Referencing Books
| Format | Author(s) [or editor(s)]. Year of publication. Book Title. Edition (if available). Place of Publication: Publisher. Extent (pagination - optional). Notes (optional). |
| Single author | Hitching F. 1982. The neck of the giraffe. New York: New American Library. Moore R. 1997. Writing to learn science. Fort Worth (TX): Saunders College Publishing. |
| Multiple author | Booth WC, Colomb GG, Williams JM. 2003. The craft of research. London: The University of Chicago Press. >10 authors: treat names as for journal articles (below) |
| Edited work | Wood DN, Hard JE, Harvey AP, editors. 1989. Information sources in the earth sciences. London: Bowker-Saur. |
| Book with edition, organization as author | Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors. 1994. Scientific style and format: the CBE manual for authors, editors, and publishers. 6th ed. Cambridge (UK): Cambridge University Press. |
| Author, editor, translator, and note | Luzikov VN. 1985. Mitochondrial biogenesis and breakdown. Galkin AV, translator; Roodyn DB, editor. New York: Consultants Bureau. Translation of Reguliatsiia formirovaniia mitokhondrii. |
Referencing Parts of a Book or Contributions to Books
| Chapter -different chapter author and book editor | Lum A. 1989. Palaeontology. In: Wood DN, Hard JE, Harvey AP, editors. Information sources in the earth sciences. London (UK): Bowker-Saur. p. 236-273. |
| Volume with a separate title | Cajori F. 1929. A history of mathematical notations. Chicago: Open Court. Volume 2, Notation mainly in higher mathematics. |
| Paper in a book - different authors, with note | Behrent JC, Green AG, Cannon WF, Hutchison DR, Lee MW, Milkereity B, Agena WF, Spencer C. 1989. Crustal extension in the Mid-continent rift system - results from GLIMPCE deep seismic reflection profiles over Lakes Superior and Michigan. In: Mereu S., Mueller S., Fountain DM, editors. Properties and processes of Earth's lower crust. Washington: American Geophysical Union. Geophysical Monograph. 51:81-89. |
| Signed encyclopedia article | Curtin CB. 1997. Giraffe. In: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. 8th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill. 8:112. |
| Unsigned encyclopedia article | Giraffe and okapi. 1995. In: Van Nostrand’s Scientific Encyclopedia. 8th ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold. 1:1463-1464. |
| Format | Author(s). Date of publication. Article title. Journal Title. Volume(issue):article pages. |
| Single author | Gould SJ. 1996. The tallest tale. Natural History. 105:18-26. Solounias N. 1999. The remarkable anatomy of the giraffe’s neck. Journal of Zoology. 247(2):257-268. |
| Multiple author |
Kisdi E, Geritz SAH. 2001. Evolutionary disarmament in interspecific competition. Proceedings of the Royal Society of London Series B Biological Sciences. 268:2589-2594. >10 authors: |
| Specific type of article (no author) | A community of chemists and biologists [editorial]. 2005. Nature Chemical Biology. 1(1):3. |
| Article with a DOI If print-related info (vol., iss., pg. or article number) is available, this can be optional. |
Format: Author(s) of article. Date of publication. Article title. Journal title [medium]. [date updated; date cited]; Volume(issue):location. Notes. Savage E, Ramsay M, White J, Beard S., Lawson H. Hunjan R, Brown D. 2005. Mumps outbreaks across England and Wales in 2004: observational study. BMJ. 330(7500):1119-1120. Martín C, Hindmarsh RCA, Navarro FJ. 2009. On the effects of divide migration, alongâridge flow, and basal sliding on isochrones near an ice divide. Journal of Geophysical Research. 114:F02006. |
| Part of an article | Franklin PD, Panzer RJ, Brideau LP, Griner PF. 1990 Jun. Innovations in clinical practice through hospital-funded grants. Academic Medicine. 65(6):355-360. Figure 1, Cost and net annual savings per study; p. 358. |
| Supplements or different dates |
Kaufert JM, O'Neil JD, Koolage WW. 1991. The cultural and political context of informed consent for Native Canadians. Arctic Medical Research. Suppl:181-184. Sampat P. 2000 Jan-Feb. Groundwater shock: the polluting of the world's major freshwater stores. World Watch. 10-22. |
| Advanced publication or forthcoming articles |
Author(s). Forthcoming date. Article title. Journal title. Farley T, Galves A, Dickinson LM, Perez MJ. Forthcoming 2005 Jul. Stress, coping, and health: a comparison of Mexican immigrants, Mexican-Americans, and non-Hispanic whites. Journal of Immigrant Health. Singh R , Jamieson A, Cresswell P. In Press 2008 Sep 24. GILT is a critical host factor for Listeria monocytogenes infection. Nature advance online publication. |
Referencing Conference Proceedings and Conference Papers
| Format: proceedings |
Editor(s). Date of publication. Title of book. Number and name of conference; date of conference in year month day order; place of conference. Place of publication: publisher. Extent (optional). Notes (optional). |
| Callaos N, Margenstern M, Zhang J, Castillo O, Doberkat EE, editors. c2003. SCI 2003. Proceedings of the 7th World Multiconference on Systemics, Cybernetics and Informatics; 2003 Jul; Orlando, FL. Orlando (FL): International Institute of Informatics and Systematics. Antonioli GE, editor. c1997. Pacemaker leads 1997. Proceedings of the 3rd International Symposium on Pacemaker Leads; 1997 Sep 11-13; Ferrara, Italy. Bologna (Italy): Monducci Editore. |
|
| Format: paper | Author(s) of paper. Date. Title of paper. In: Editor(s). Title of book. Number and name of conference; date of conference in year month day; place of conference. Place of publication: publisher. Pages. Notes (optional). |
| Full paper |
Lee DJ, Bates D, Dromey C, Xu X, Antani S. c2003. An imaging system correlating lip shapes with tongue contact patterns for speech pathology research. In: Krol M, Mitra S, Lee DJ, editors. CBMS 2003. Proceedings of the 16th IEEE Symposium on Computer-Based Medical Systems; 2003 Jun 26-27; New York. Los Alamitos (CA): IEEE Computer Society. p. 307-313. |
| Abstract |
Church JA, Marshall G, Lang W. 1989. Thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura (TTP) in an HIV-infected child [abstract]. In: Morisset RA, editor. 5th International Conference on AIDS: the Scientific and Social Challenge; 1989 Jun 4-9; Montreal. Ottawa (ON): International Development Research Centre. p. 494. |
Referencing Newspaper Articles
| Format |
Author(s). Date of publication. Article title. Newspaper title (edition). Section designator: beginning page number (column number). |
| Signed newspaper article | Rensberger B, Specter B. 1989 Aug 7. CFCs may be destroyed by natural process. Washington Post (Final Ed.). Sect. A:2(col. 5). |
| Unsigned newspaper article | Gene data may help fight colon cancer. 1990 Aug 24. Los Angeles Times. Sect. A:4. |
| Signed newspaper article - online | Revkin AC. 2006 Dec 30. Arctic ice shelf broke off Canadian island. New York Times. [Internet]. [cited 2009 Nov 3]. Available from: http://www.nytimes.com/2006/12/30/science/earth/30ice.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=ayles%20ice%20shelf&st=cse |
Referencing Internet Sources
| Format |
Author/creator/editor. Date of publication. Title [Medium]. Edition. Place of publication: publisher; [date updated; date cited]. Notes. Date of publication (if not available), edition, place of publication, and publisher are optional. |
| Web site or files |
APSnet: plant pathology online [Internet]. c1994-2005. St. Paul (MN): American Phytopathological Association; [Cited 2005 Jun 20]. Lawrence RA. 1997. A review of the medical benefits and contraindications to breastfeeding in the United States [Internet]. Arlington (VA): National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (US); [Cited 2005 Jun 28]. Higgins JPT, Green S, editors. [updated 2008 Sep]. Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions [Internet]. Version 5.0.1. Oxford (UK): The Cochrane Collaboration; [Cited 2009 Jun 10]. Pryor G. 2003. Why do giraffes have long necks? An evolutionary analysis [Internet]. [Cited 2004 Aug 5]. Smithsonian Institute. Blast from the past [Internet]. [Cited 2006 Feb 4]. Patrias K. 2001. National Library of Medicine recommended formats for bibliographic citation: supplement: Internet formats [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section; [Cited 2005 Aug 22]. |
| Electronic encyclopedia | Herbison L, Frame GW. 2005. giraffe (Giraffa camelopardalis). Encyclopaedia Britannica [Internet]. [Cited 2005 Sep 22]. |
| Articles |
Can be referenced like print articles, as above. If the article is in a Web page format, then: |
Adapted from:
Callan SJ, Penwarden AP, Wendell C. 1999. IX. The Council of Biology Editors (CBE) Style of Documentation in Science and Mathematics [Internet]. Rochester (NY): State University of New York, Monroe Community College, MCC Libraries. [Cited 2005 August 24].. From: The New Guide to Writing Research Papers.
Patrias K. 1991. National Library of Medicine recommended formats for bibliographic citation. Bethesda (MD): U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section.
Patrias K. 2001. National Library of Medicine recommended formats for bibliographic citation: supplement: Internet formats [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. [Cited 2005 August 22].
Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors. 2006. Scientific style and format: the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers. 7th ed. Reston (VA): Council of Science Editors.