LibGuides: Social Work Policy Analysis: Additional Policy Resources

Policy Analysist

SPHERE Institute
The SPHERE Institute (SPHERE) is a not-for-profit policy research firm established in 1996. In conjunction with its fully affiliated partner firm, Acumen, LLC, SPHERE conducts public policy research evaluating health and social service programs supported by public and private funds.

The Green Book

Green Book: Main Page
Presents background material and statistical data on the major entitlement programs and other activities within the Committee on Ways and Means jurisdiction. It is a valuable resource and standard reference on American social policy

Read This...

For more information on the legislative process access the following links and PDF files.

How to find a U.S. Government Publication
Federal government publications are arranged by the Superintendent of Documents classification number. Publications are grouped together by issuing agency.
How Our Laws Are Made
(House Document 110-49); revised and updated by John V. Sullivan, Parliamentarian, United States House of Representatives, July 2007.
Enactment of a Law
By Robert B. Dove, Parliamentarian, U.S. Senate
House and Senate Rules of Procedure: A Comparison
A CRS Report for Congress, updated April 2008 by Judy Schneider.
Legislative History: A Basic Guide for Constituents
This CRS Report for Congress provides an overview of legislative history of federal legislation. It briefly outlines the legislative process and suggests where to find materials that describe or document a piece of legislation's progress through Congress.
The Legislative Process on the House Floor: An Introduction
A CRS Report for Congress, by Christopher M. Davis Analyst on Congress and the Legislative Process Updated May 20, 2019
The Legislative Process on the Senate Floor: An Introduction
A CRS Report for Congress, by Valerie Heitshusen Updated July 22, 2019
Federal Legislative History
A research guide from the J. Michael Goodson Law Library, Duke University School of Law; revised by Jennifer L. Behrens, Updated 10/2018

Federal Legislative History Research
A Practitioner's Guide to Compiling the Documents and Sifting for Legislative Intent by Richard J. McKinney and Ellen A. Sweet; last revised September 2019
How Laws Are Made and How to Research Them
Learn how laws, regulations, and executive orders are made and how to look them up. From USA.gov

Additional Resources

The American Presidency Project
Archived papers from 1789 - current. Contains most of the President's public messages, statements, speeches, and news conference remarks.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is one of the nation’s premier policy organizations working at the federal and state levels on fiscal policy and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.
Google Scholar Case Law
Google Scholar offers an extensive database of state and federal cases.
Government Accountability Office
"Provides both summaries and full-text files of reports and testimony dating back to fiscal year 1979. GAO posts full-text files on its web site daily, often within 24 hours of when a report or testimony is publicly released."
Government Attic
Govermnentattic.org provides two types of files: logs of FOIA requests to various government departments, and documents acquired under the FOIA.
History of Bills
The History of Bills lists legislative actions on bills that are reported in the Congressional Record.
House of Representatives - Committees
The House’s committees consider bills and issues and oversee agencies, programs, and activities within their jurisdictions.
How To Find Free Case Law Online
From Library of Congress, a research guide to help you locate free case law on the internet using Google Scholar, CourtListener, FindLaw, Justia, and Public Library of Law (PLoL).
Laws.com
Provides the public with a free flow of information, especially, in the area of crime prevention. It offers updated information on current issues, and supply's crime prevention solutions.
Legislative Histories of Selected U.S. Laws on the Internet
This page from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C., links to free and commercial legislative histories, arranged by popular name and public law number.
National Center for Law and Economic Justice
NCLEJ advances the cause of economic justice for low-income, families, individuals, and communities across the country by addressing a wide range of critical issues.
The Supreme Court of the United States
This is the official site of the United States Supreme Court; keyword searching is enabled to let you look through cases, rulings, and supplementary materials.
more...less...
"The Court is the highest tribunal in the Nation for all cases and controversies arising under the Constitution or the laws of the United States. As the final arbiter of the law, the Court is charged with ensuring the American people the promise of equal justice under law and, thereby, also functions as guardian and interpreter of the Constitution."
Urban Institute
The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.

Social Welfare Think Tanks

Here are a few selected national think tanks/research institutes that work in areas relevant to social welfare. Please be aware that think tanks may be biased in one direction or another, so it's a good idea to investigate them and exert caution when using information from them in your research.