LibGuides: African American Literature and Culture: Education

African American Education

Suggested Search Terms:

African Americans -- Education
African Americans -- Education -- Social aspects
African American college students
African American school principals
African American schools
African American students -- Social conditions
Discrimination in education -- United States
Educational equalization -- United States
Educational change
Racism -- United States -- History -- 20th centiry
Segregation in education

Websites

Black Collegian
Career and job site for African American college students.
Executive Order on White House Initiative on Advancing Educational Equity, Excellence, and Economic Opportunity for Black Americans
from the White House
October 2021
History of Black Education
Kenyon College Black History Index
K-12 Disparity Facts and Statistics
from United Negro College Fund (UNCF)
The Scrabble School: Timeline of Events in African-American Education
U.S. public school students often go to schools where at least half of their peers are the same race or ethnicity
Article from Pew Research Center, December 2021.

Library Materials

African-American Odyssey (American Memory Collection) This link opens in a new window The Library of Congress presents these documents as part of the record of the past. These primary historical documents reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times.
Education Full Text (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts, and full text covering contemporary education issues.
Education Research Complete (EDS) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
ERIC (EBSCOhost Interface) (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
ERIC (Public Access Interface) This link opens in a new window Indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The public access (.gov) interface is very easy to use and includes a thesaurus browse option that quickly identifies ERIC subjects; however, full-text articles available online via the ERIC OSearch Interface or the ERIC EBSCOhost Interface may not be accessible from off-campus via this interface.
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.

Brown v. Board of Education : caste, culture, and the constitution by Robert J. Cottrol, Raymond T. Diamond, and Leland B. Ware
Call Number: 344.73 C82b
ISBN: 0700612882
Publication Date: 2003
Every closed eye ain't sleep : African American perspectives on the achievement gap by Teresa D. Hill
Call Number: 371.829 H55e
ISBN: 9781610481045
Publication Date: 2011
Examines the origins and perpetuation of the achievement gap from the perspective of the African American community.

Changing academia forever : Black student leaders analyze the movement they led by Kitty Kelly Epstein and Bernard Stringer.
ISBN: 9781975502720
Publication Date: 2020
The most effective and long-lasting student strike in U.S. History took place at San Francisco State College in 1968. The first Black Student Union, the first Black Studies Department, the only College of Ethnic Studies, and the admission of thousands of students of color resulted from this four-and-a-half-month strike which shut down 80% of the campus. It has been called the movement which "changed academia forever."
The Sage handbook of African American education by Linda C. Tillman, editor
ISBN: 9781412937436
Publication Date: 2009
This handbook reflects historical and current perspectives on African Americans in secondary and post-secondary education. Its content promotes enquiry and development of questions, ideas and dialogues about critical practice, theory and research about African Americans in the US education system.
There is nothing wrong with black students [electronic resource] by Jawanza Kunjufu
ISBN: 9781934155608
Publication Date: 2012
Refuting common ideas about the racial achievement gap, this exploration of the education system posits that the gap is not the result of the students, their parents, or the larger community, but rather stems from the limited effectiveness of the schools they attend.
Unsung Legacies of Educators and Events in African American Education [electronic resource] by Andrea D. Lewis, Nicole A. Taylor, editors
ISBN: 9783319901275
Publication Date: 2019
This book describes the contributions of twenty-two educators and events that have shaped the field of education, often receiving little to no public recognition.

The Black collegian : the career and self-development magazine for African Americans
Publication Date: 03/01/1990 to present
Articles aimed at African-American college students offering the information, guidance and assistance needed to survive and succeed in a complex and demanding society.
Journal of African American Males in Education
Publication Date: 02/01/2010 to present
Aims to advance scholarship and practice on African American males in education.

The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
Open Access Online

Condition of Education

Condition of Education 2020

NSBA: National Schoold Boards Association: Black Students in the Condition of Education 2020
Summary from Condition of Education 2020

Postsecondary National Policy Institute: Black Students in Higher Education
Updated November 2023
State of Higher Education 2023 report
from Gallup and Lumina Foundation

African American Literature and Culture: Education

African American Education

Websites

Library Materials

Condition of Education

African American Higher Education: April 2020