LibGuides: African American Literature and Culture: Art

African American Art

Godfather of Harlem by Corey Barksdale

African-American art is a broad term describing visual art created by African Americans. The range of art they have created, and are continuing to create, over more than two centuries is as varied as the artists themselves - Wikipedia

Suggested Search Terms:

African American art
African American art -- African influences
African American artists
African American aesthetics.
African Americans in art.

Websites

Art and the African American Experience Teacher Guides
Links to resources from the Smithsonian American Art Museum.
Art Cyclopedia: African American Artists
Chronological listing of African American artist.
AskART: Black American Artists
Provides information on more than 52,000 North American artists. The summary page for each artist links to digital images, biographies, the artist's books and articles published within the last 20 years, museum holdings, artwork for sale, art dealers, as well as auction/sales information and citations regarding the artist's information.
Black Art Depot Today
The Black Art Depot Today is a blog that focuses on keeping all people interested in African American and other ethnic art informed of what is going on in the ethnic art industry and with African American and other ethnic artists and the art, gifts and collectibles that they create.
Smithsonian American Art Museum (SAAM): African American Art
SAAM is home to one of the most significant collections of works by African American artists in the world.
The Soul of Black Comix
John Jennings uses comics, hip-hop and his own drawings to showcase African American expressions.

Search Everything: EBSCO Discovery Service

An all-inclusive search solution that makes in-depth research easy. The platform offers sophisticated features and functionality that anticipate user intent, helping them get to exactly what they are looking for quickly and easily.

Library Materials

African-American Odyssey (American Memory Collection) This link opens in a new window The Library of Congress presents these documents as part of the record of the past. These primary historical documents reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times.
Art Full Text [1929 - ] (EDS) This link opens in a new window Indexes over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Art Index Retrospective [1929-1984] (EDS) This link opens in a new window includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window This link takes you to a list of EBSCO resources available to OhioLINK users.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.

African-American art by Sharon F. Patton
Call Number: 704.0396 P27a
ISBN: 9780192842138
Publication Date: 1998
Discusses African American folk art, decorative art, photography, and fine arts.
The hearing eye : jazz & blues influences in African American visual art by edited by Graham Lock and David Murray
Call Number: 704.0396 H35
ISBN: 9780195340518
Publication Date: 2009
African Americans in the visual arts by Steven Otfinoski.
Call Number: 704.0396 Ot2a
ISBN: 0816048800
Publication Date: 2003
REFERENCE EDITION

African American art : the long struggle by Crystal A. Britton
ISBN: 9781422239315
Publication Date: 2018
Here is a visual celebration of African American Art from it's beginnings in Colonial America up to the present day. From early folk art to contemporary paintings, prints, and sculpture, a selection of 107 full-color illustrations presents the remarkable history of America's Black artistic heritage.
The art and life of Clarence Major [electronic resource]
ISBN: 9780820330556
Publication Date: 2012
Clarence Major is an award-winning painter, fiction writer, and poet - as well as an essayist, editor, anthologist, lexicographer, and memoirist. This is the first critical biography of this innovative African American writer and visual artist.
Black superheroes, Milestone comics, and their fans [electronic resource] by Jeffrey A. Brown.
ISBN: 9781578062829
Publication Date: 2001
Exhibiting blackness : African Americans and the American art museum by Bridget R. Cooks
ISBN: 9781558498754
Publication Date: 2011
In Exhibiting Blackness, art historian Bridget R. Cooks analyzes the curatorial strategies, challenges, and critical receptions of the most significant museum exhibitions of African American art.
Images of Black modernism : verbal and visual strategies of the Harlem Renaissance by Miriam Thaggert
ISBN: 9781558498310
Publication Date: 2010
Focusing on the years from 1922 to 1938, this book revisits an important moment in black cultural history to explore how visual elements were used in poems, novels, and photography to undermine existing stereotypes
The Routledge companion to African American art history by Eddie Chambers, editor
ISBN: 9781138486553
Publication Date: 2020
This Companion authoritatively points to the main areas of inquiry within the subject of African American art history.

International Review of African American Art
Publication Date: 01/02/2011 to 04/01/2020, with selective coverage back to 1993
Articles about the visual culture of African-descended people in the Americas.

African American Literature and Culture: Art

African American Art

Websites

Search Everything: EBSCO Discovery Service

Search Everything

Library Materials

Smithsonian: Black and African American Art Tour with Robert Kelleman