LibGuides: Government Information: Stats and Data

Statistical and Data Resources

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Find information on such issues as economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Presents data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Presents data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Presents data on all modes of
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Data and statistics categorized by broad topic. Page also provides links to additional sources of health data.
Childstats.gov
Presents statistics on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health
Congressional Budget Office
The CBO provides the Congress with analyses to aid in economic and budgetary process. Reports may be searched or browsed by subject.
Data.gov
Allows users to locate, download and utilize datasets generated by Executive Branch agencies.
Defense Management Data Center
Military and civilian defense personnel and casualty statistics.
Economic Research Service
Statistics related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.
Election Statistics
Official vote counts for federal elections since 1920.
Energy Information Administration
Data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports and prices.
ForeignAssistance.gov
Presents data about the U.S. government's foreign assistance funding. Data is viewable by country, sector, or year and can also be queried for user-generated tables.
Hall of Justice
State and national criminal justice statistics. From the Sunlight Foundation.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Presents statistics covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
National Center for Education Statistics
Presents statistics and reports related to education, literacy and libraries.
National Center for Health Statistics
Presents statistics and reports on diseases and conditions; injuries; births and deaths; insurance; medical facilities; and more.
Office of Immigration Statistics
Presents data on immigrants by legal status.
USA.gov
Data and statistics by topic.

Agricultural Statistics Annual
Offers statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Annual Energy Review
Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Condition of Education
Presents statistical indicators containing text, figures, and tables describing important developments in the status and trends of education from early childhood learning through graduate-level education.
Digest of Education Statistics
Contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Health, United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics. Website archives issues back to 1975.
Monthly Labor Review
Presents research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and many more.
National Transportation Statistics
Presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Database of statistical information. Browse by broad interest (criminal justice characteristics, public opinion, crime victims, arrests & seizures, courts/prosecution/sentencing. and parole/jails/prisons/death penalty) or from an A-Z topic list.
Survey of Current Business
Presents the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.
Treasury Bulletin
Presents data and narrative related to Treasury issues, federal financial operations, international statistics, liabilities, and financial commitments of the U.S. government
Uniform Crime Reports
Provides access to FBI statistical publications, including Crime in the United States and Hate Crime Statistics, 1995-present.
World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Provides annual data on foreign nationals who were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns.

The commercial products below were not published by the federal government, but have compiled federal data and statistics in a way that provides "one stop shopping" - allowing you to simultaneously search across multiple sources of statistical information.

Demand Progress Data Sets
Federal appropriations data.

GPO Monthly Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of U.S. government documents.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, it provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible mapping files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks

Census Information

Census Bureau
Extensive collection of statistical reports and data about U.S. people and economics.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States, Appendix I
The Statistical Abstract, published annually by the Census Bureau since 1878, has fallen victim to budget cuts; the 2012 edition is the last freely-available edition. Appendix I provides a listing of sources consulted in compiling the Abstract; these resources may be used independently to find relevant statistics.
UCSD will continue to receive print copies of the Statistical Abstract, which is now being published by a commercial vendor.