Literature Databases/Journals - ENG 3XX - Living Traditions

Online Journals

A few online journals you may find useful.

English Literature in Transition, 1880-1920
01/01/1983 to present
Publishes articles on fiction, poetry, drama, or subjects of cultural interest in the 1880-1920 period of British literature.
Studies in English Literature (Rice)
01/01/1975 to present
Historical and critical essays contributing significantly to the understanding of English literature, 1500-1900.
Essays in Literature
Selective coverage from 1988 to 1996
Studies concerning any literary period, figure, genre or work of literature and literary theory in the British and American traditions and the modern European languages.
Gothic Studies
08/01/1999 to present
Considers the field of Gothic studies from the eighteenth century to the present day.

English Language and Literature Databases

Twentieth (20th) Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window Contains 52,000 poems from collected works and individual volumes of poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets
Twentieth (20th) Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window Contains over 44,000 poems by 288 poets, incorporating the Modern Poetry Collection and The Faber Poetry Library. The complete text of each poem is included, and any integral images are also scanned. Introductions and prefaces to the volumes are included, as are all notes and any prose sections.
American & English Literature (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window Full text of books and other sources of poetry, drama and prose originally published in print. Also includes 21 historic editions of the Bible in English.
American Drama This link opens in a new window Currently contains more than 700 plays from over 300 dramatists of American dramatic literature from 1714 to the present. When complete, it will feature the complete text of more than 2,000 plays written by American dramatists.
American Poetry 1600-1900 This link opens in a new window A collection of 1,200 books and anthologies of early American poetry providing access to 40,000 poems of American writers from the 17th to the early 20th century. This database contains the works of all major American poets, including Emily Dickinson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman, and John Greenleaf Whittier. It also covers many less familiar names.
Bibliography of American Literature This link opens in a new window A comprehensive bibliographic guide, providing nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the American Revolution to 1930. BAL lists every reprint and variant edition of an authors works, including obscure and fugitive appearances in anthologies, broadsides, and gift books. It also includes details on bindings and physical features of the editions.
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes & Superheroes, First Edition (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window The first title in this series, Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes and Superheroes, provides in-depth insight into over 130 of the most popular and studied graphic novels.Essays look beyond the 'pop culture' aspects of the medium to show the wide range of literary themes and artistic styles used to convey beliefs and conflicts, some harking back to ancient times.
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme, and Technique (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window This one-volume reference contains over 65 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels, including genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking.
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Independents & Underground Classics (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window This title looks specifically at the body of work that is self-published or is originally from independent publishers, examining more than 215 titles in terms of publication history, plot, characters, artistic style, themes, and impact.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) Gale Cengage This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative information while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.This one-stop resource provides access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series (more than 360 vols.), the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (19 vols.) and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols.) — a total of more than 400 volumes and 185,000 pages.
Early American Fiction This link opens in a new window This database comprises the full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare This link opens in a new window Includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.
Eighteenth Century Fiction This link opens in a new window Contains the complete text of 96 works of English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles. All of the most widely-studied texts are in the database, alongside others long neglected or unavailable. The complete text of each work is included. First editions have been used unless considered unreliable.
English Poetry 600-1900 This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of over 175,000 poems by over 1,400 poets from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, between the years 600 and 1900. This database contains the full text of over 4400 poetry collections listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.
English Prose Drama This link opens in a new window Based on plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature that were written or intended for the stage and wholly or primarily in prose. EPD contains more than 1,800 plays by approximately 400 authors from the Renaissance to the end of the nineteenth century.
English Verse Drama This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of more than 2,200 works of poetry intended for the stage by over 500 named authors and over 300 anonymous works, from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century through the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods to the end of the nineteenth century.

Literature Criticism Online (LCO) Gale Cengage
Offers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, including the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals — delivered in an easy format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Search Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism in this database.

Magill’s Literary Annual 2013 This link opens in a new window Reviews of significant fiction and nonfiction published in 2012. Provides coverage for works that are likely to be of particular interest to the general reader, that reflect the publishing trends of a given year, and that will stand up to the test of time.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EDS) This link opens in a new window Contains all information available on the journals and series on the MLA bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. Over 5,500 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed
MLA International Bibliography (EDS) This link opens in a new window Index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window Historical dictionary of the English language.

ENG 3XX - Living Traditions: Literature Databases/Journals

Online Journals

English Language and Literature Databases