ENG 3XX - Living Traditions: Hamlet

The first-ever full-text film of William Shakespeare's work.
Cast includes Kenneth Branagh, Julie Christie, Billy Crystal, Gerard Depardieu, Charlton Heston, Derek Jacobi, Jack Lemmon, Rufus Sewell, Robin Williams, Kate Winslet.

Criterion Collection DVD release of the 1948 motion picture.
Cast includes Laurence Olivier, Basil Sydney, Eileen Herlie, Norman Wooland, Felix Aylmer, Terence Morgan, Jean Simmons, Peter Cushing, Anthony Quayle.

Originally produced as a motion picture in 1990.
Cast includes Mel Gibson, Glenn Close, Alan Bates, Paul Scofield, Ian Holm, Helena Bonham-Carter.

A contemporary adaptation of Shakespeare's epic story of passion, betrayal and revenge. The president of the Denmark Corporation is dead, and already his wife is remarried to the man suspected of his murder. No one is more troubled by this than her son, Hamlet. Now, after this hostile takeover, trust is impossible, passion is on the rise and vengeance is in the air.
Cast includes Ethan Hawke, Kyle MacLachlan, Diane Venora, Liev Schreiber, Julia Stiles, Steve Zahn, Sam Shepard, Bill Murray.

Originally broadcast on television in 2009, this production of Shakespeare's masterpiece from Britain's renowned Royal Shakespeare Company was filmed on location rather than in the theatre.
Cast includes David Tennant, Patrick Stewart.

Originally premiered in 1964 on NET (PBS).
Cast includes Christopher Plummer, Robert Shaw, Alec Clunes, Michael Caine, June Tobin, Jo Maxwell Muller, Roy Kinnear, Philip Saville.

The fringe characters from Shakespeare's 'Hamlet' take center stage at Elsinore.
Originally released as a motion picture in 1990.
Cast includes Gary Oldman, Tim Roth, Richard Dreyfuss, Iain Glen, Ian Richardson, Donald Sumpter, Joanna Miles, Joanna Roth, John Burgess.