Nursing Research: Miscellaneous Internet Resources

An A-Z list of online resources in the field of nursing and health. Some links may be repeated as they fall in different categories.

• Aging (Gerontology)
  AARP Website with information for people over 50. The AARP Magazine is full-text on the website.
  American Society on Aging
  National Council on Aging
  The Merck Manual of Geriatrics (3rd ed.)  A textbook style reference that covers pathophysiology, issues and concerns of aging.

• AIDS
  AIDS Information Clinical trials, treatment and prevention information provided by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.
  HIV InSite Information selected and reviewed by University of California, San Francisco faculty and staff.

• Alternative Medicine
  National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine A division of the National Institutes of Health for consumers and practitioners.
  White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy: FInal Report and Next Steps
   
• Alerting Services/Blogs/RSS Feeds
  Medscape Nurses Blog: "In Our Own Words" - issues related to professional experiences
  NIH Clinical Alerts and Advisories - Clinical alerts and advisories from NIH-funded clinical trials
  US National Library of Medicine - RSS Feeds and Podcasts

• Bioethics
  Center for Bioethics - University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, news, resource links, events, special features, streaming video.
   

• Cancer
  American Cancer Society General information, resources, and support services for cancer patients and their families.
  American Institute of Cancer Research Useful source of patient/family education materials for professionals
  American Society of Clinical Oncology Nonprofit organization of health care professionals of work in many subspecialties of clinical oncology. Includes a "policy and practice" section.
  National Cancer Institute Overviews of cancer types, plus information on clinical trials and cancer topics.
  Oncology Nursing Society National organization's website providing news, research, treatment guideline and care management information.
  Stewart's Caring Place A cancer wellness and educational resource center for individuals and families touched by cancer.

• Consumer Health Information
  Alice is an interactive health promotion service provided by Columbia University.
  Center for Eating Disorders From the Center for Eating Disorders at Sheppard Pratt in Maryland, this site offers answers to frequently asked questions about eating disorders and includes a monthly feature on the subject.
  ClinicalTrials.gov From the National Library of Medicine, this site allows consumers to search for information on the latest clinical trials through keyword searching or by browsing by condition.
  Columbia University Home Medical Guide
  Healthfinder A searchable database of government health information that is very clearly organized and filled with lots of useful information. The "details" link following each resource provides information about the government agency that produced the information.
  Mayo Clinic Health Information Medical information from the Mayo Clinic.
  Medicine Net - an online, healthcare media publishing company. It provides easy-to-read, in-depth, authoritative medical information for consumers via its robust, user-friendly, interactive website.
  National Women's Health Information Center From the Office on Women's Health of the US Department of Health and Human Services, this site contains articles and FAQs on all aspects of women's health.
  RxMed Illness Information  These handouts are available for over 200 conditions, and include information about \ signs and symptoms, risk factors, prevention, diagnosis and treatment, medication and more
  Spine-Health.com This site provides basic information on back pain, includes overviews of available treatments, and allows visitors to submit questions to professional caregivers.
  
   

• Drugs, Prescriptions (Pharmaceutical Resources)
  HSLS Health Resources University of Pittsburgh site for drug-related information; includes internet resources, dirctories, encyclopedias, newsletters, journals and databases.
  IBIDS Database Database of dietary supplements produced by the National Institute of Health to provide credible, scientific information.
  Medical Word Search Comprehensive and concise information on individual and generic and brand name pharmaceutical products
  Prescription drug coverage, spending, utilization and prices Report by the Department of Health and Human Services (April 2000).
  RxList Prescription drug information.

• Eating Disorders
  American Psychiatric Association Eating Disorders
  Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders
  National Eating Disorders Association
   

• Health and Wellness
  MedlinePlus Good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date. Includes extensive information from the NIH and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions.
  Minority Health, Office of - Improves and protects the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.
  National Center for Health Statistics Information on the nation's health.
  National Women's Health Information Center  (womenshealth.gov) provides leadership to promote health equity for women and girls through sex/gender-specific approaches
  Surgeon General  (United States Department of Health & Human Services) Call to action to prevent and decrease overweight and obesity.
  Teen Health Affiliated with KidsHealth, contains information about children from before birth through adolescence.
• Hospitals
  American Hospital Directory
  Aultman Health Foundation Includes Health Resource Center section.
  Children's Hospital Medical Center of Akron Information on specific childhood diseases and disorders, clinical trials and parenting information.
  The Cleveland Clinic Clinical trials, health information center, Lerner Research Institute.
  Mercy Medical Center
  Health Care Financing Administration's comparison of nursing homes

M

• Mental Health
  The American Psychiatric Nurses Association Well-organized resources for the clinician, including some full-text.
  Internet Mental Health Multi-lingual site providing description, diagnosis, treatment, research findings and articles for the most common mental disorders.
  Ohio Department of Mental Health News, reports, seminars and reference materials for clinicians and consumers.
• Meta Sites for Nursing Information
  American Nurses Association's Nursing World - Links to state nurses associations and allied nursing organizations globally.
  Hardin Meta Directory's Nursing and Nursing Research - University of Iowa
• National Institute of Nursing Research
• National League for Nursing

N

• National Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  (CDC) Health information, traveler's advisories, data and statistics.    
• National Center for Health Statistics    
• National Center for Infectious Diseases  (NCID) has been officially reorganized: its former divisions and programs have been realigned into multiple national centers. As a result, the website of the former NCID has been retired. For infectious disease health topic information, please consult the CDC Diseases and Conditions A-Z Index.
• National Institute of Health Biomedical information, grants and research opportunities as well as links to molecular biology and modeling.
• Nutrition
  Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition Wide variety of information provided by the FDA, including food labels.
  Celebrate Healthy Eating Nutrition education packet for preschool children

O

• Ohio Department of Health Alerts, data and statistics for the state of Ohio.

P

• Pain Management
  American Academy of Pain Management National Pain Data Bank provides case information and access to treatment plans for a variety of pain diagnoses.
• Pediatrics
  American Academy of Pediatrics General information regarding health care of children and adolescents.
• Physicial Activity
• Bright Futures in Practice

R

• Research
  The Medical Matrix Project An academic informatics effort that provides access to digital clinical medical information.

S

• Stark County Health Department Health reports, statistics, environmental issues and community health.
• Substance Abuse
  SAMHSA Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
• Supplements
  NIH Office of Dietary Supplements Searchable database

W

• World Health Organization Select "Information Sources" for access to reports, publications, statistical information and disease outbreak news.
   
• Weight Control
  Weight-Control Information Network 
   
• Women's Health
  National Women's Health Information Center Reliable health information for women.
  Society for Women's Health Research Research findings, policy and advocacy for the improvement of women's health research.
  Women's Health Initiative A major 15-year research program to address the most common causes of death, disability and poor quality of life in postmenopausal women -- cardiovascular disease, cancer, and osteoporosis.