LibGuides: Nursing Research: Introduction

School of Nursing

School of Nursing and Health Sciences
Link to description, majors, courses and faculty
Facilities
Includes information and hours for the Center for Study and Testing (CST), Regula Hall and Center for Clinical Learning (CCL).
Faculty

Research Quick Sheets

Searching Nursing Databases
An overview of how to search in EBSCOHost, Pioneer Trail, OVID, PubMed and more...
Qualitative/Quantitative Research
A guide to finding qualitative and quantitative articles in EBSCOHost, CINAHL, PubMed, Medline, ProQuest Nursing and the Pioneer Trail Discovery Layer.
Nursing Research
An overview on where and how to begin nursing research

Bevel up: drugs, users & outreach nursing

Bevel up: drugs, users & outreach nursing
Bevel Up follows street nurses as they reach out to people working in the sex trade, and people who use drugs in the alleys and hotels of Vancouver’s inner city.

Evidence-Based Practice: An Interprofessional Tutorial

An interactive tutorial from the University of Minnesota Health Sciences Library

Most Used Databases

Most popular and professor approved nursing databases

CINAHL
CINAHL provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937.
EBSCO Databases
Choose databases such as Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, Health Source and Medline and search across these databases for nursing materials.

MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) (EDS) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) is a comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full Text of leading nursing and related publications. Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, and much more.

PUBMED
NLM's free version of MEDLINE. It contains links to the full-text versions of articles at participating publishers' websites and access to PREMEDLINE basic

Liaison Librarian

Kristine Owens

Email Me

Essential Nursing Resources

The 26th edition (2012) of the ICIRN Essential Nursing Resources (ENR) list is presented as a resource for locating nursing information and for collection development. The list includes print, electronic, and web sources to support nursing practice, education, administration, and research activities

Essential Nursing Resources

Guide Images

Some of the images used throughtout this guide were selected from Google images.

Nursing Research: Introduction