LibGuides: Nursing Research: Library and Online Resources

Primary Nursing Research Databases

EBSCO Databases
Select EBSCOhost Web, then choose databases such as Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, Health Source and Medline.
AACN (American Association of Critical Care Nurses)
Provides the highest quality resources to maximize and improve the healthcare of critically ill patients and their families.

Alt HealthWatch (EDS) This link opens in a new window This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services. Its mission is to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) (EDS) This link opens in a new window Indexes the literature of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present. Articles from more than 1000 journals are covered, as well as books, pamphlets, dissertations, audiovisuals, software, etc.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley) (EDS) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. The CDSR is updated regularly as Cochrane Reviews are published ‘when ready’ and form monthly issues; see publication schedule.

CultureGrams (Proquest)
One of the most trusted and widely used cultural reference products in the education, government, and non-profit arenas. Its aim is to foster understanding and appreciation of the world's peoples by documenting the unique details of their customs, traditions, and daily life.

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Also known as the EJC, it includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
Journals -- Publication Finder (EDS) This link opens in a new window Use to find full-text articles in online journals.
Global Road Warrior (EDS) This link opens in a new window A massive database of constantly updated proprietary editorial and graphics for 175 countries of the world. It provides deep content coverage in major topic areas of society and culture, travel, communications, business, trade, marketing, and security.
MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) (EDS) This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more than 1,370 of the most used journals indexed in MEDLINE
Online Journal Issues in Nursing (OJIN) This link opens in a new window A peer-reviewed publication that provides a forum for discussion of the issues inherent in current topics of interest to nurses and other health care professionals.
OVID Journals This link opens in a new window Provides access to online bibliographic databases, academic journals, and other products, chiefly in the area of health sciences.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Includes evidence-based practice documents from the Joanna Briggs Institute

PUBMED
NLM's free version of MEDLINE. It contains links to the full-text versions of articles at participating publishers' websites and access to PREMEDLINE basic

Database Tutorials

Haven't trouble searching a database. Here's a list of a few that have online tutorials to assist you. Or, you're welcome to stop by the library and a reference librarian would be happy to help you!

CINAHL Tutorials Online
CINAHL is the Nursing Database. EBSCO's CINAHL Support Center provides varied tutorials to enhance your searching of this major database.
EBSCOhost Databases Tutorials
Links to tutorials created by the database vendors. Please note: these are links to external sites not maintained by Malone library.
OvidSP Tutorial
The MEDLINE and Health & Psychosocial Instruments databases are available through the OvidSP interface. Learn how to search these databases effectively through online tutorials and webinars.
PubMed Tutorial
Learn how to search PubMed. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 19 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

We'll Find it for YOU!!

undefined Found an article you like but it's not full-text?!

Request the article through our Interlibrary-Loan service.
Contact the Interlibrary Loan librarian
Mary-Ann Frischkorn
Email: mfrischkorn@malone.edu
Phone: 330-471-8319.

Open Access Journals

INANE Directory of Nursing Journals
Their stated purpose is "to help nurse authors find suitable and reputable journals in which to publish their work." The directory includes both OA and subscription journals.

Grey Literature

Grey literature is a significant resource in the fields of health services research and health policy.Check out this guide created by the librarians at New York City Libraries to discover sources for Health.Medicine and Nursing professionals

Grey Literature Guide

Healthfinder.gov

It is most valuable for the general public and undergraduates; graduate students and researchers may find this tool useful to begin research on a certain topic, but the content is very basic. The website does well with checklists via the myhealthfinder tool, providing recommendations for preventive services to improve health. Researchers, librarians, and health-related organizations will appreciate the ability to integrate information from this website information into other websites.