LibGuides: Nursing Research: Transcultural Nursing

Transcultural Nursing: Search Terms

Transcultural nursing is how professional nursing interacts with the concept of culture...it is supported by nursing theory, research, and practice. It is a specific cognitive specialty in nursing that focuses on global cultures and comparative cultural caring, health, and nursing phenomena. It was established in 1955 as a formal area of inquiry and practice. It is a body of knowledge that assists in providing culturally appropriate nursing care. ~ from Wikipedia

Some terms you might use when searching the library catalog (OPAL) or the library databases:

Transcultural Nursing
Transcultural medicine
Transcultural medical care
Multicultural nursing
Cultural diversity
Nursing -- Cross-cultural studies
Nursing -- Social aspects
Health behavior -- Cross-cultural studies
Nursing -- Philosophy
Nursing ethics
Communication in nursing
Intercultural communication
Cultural characteristics

Search also for specific ethnic and cultural groups:

African-Americans
Vietnamese-Americans
Cherokee Indians
Etc.

Global Road Warrior

Global Road Warrior (EDS) This link opens in a new window A massive database of constantly updated proprietary editorial and graphics for 175 countries of the world. It provides deep content coverage in major topic areas of society and culture, travel, communications, business, trade, marketing, and security.

Native Americans Resources Online

American Indian Health and Family Services
A portal created by the National Library of Medicine, with links to current issues for Native Americans. Traditional healing methods are also included.
Center for Native American health
Center aims to be New Mexico's best practice for Native American health workforce creation, health equity promotion, healthy communities support and development.
Indian Health Service
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services supports this site for American Indians and Native Alaskans. It includes fact sheets, medical programs, directories, and research projects.

Asian Resources Online

Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum
The Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) works with communities to mobilize in order to influence policy and to strengthen their community-based organizations to achieve health equity for AAs (Asian Americans) and NHPIs (Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders) across the country.
Japanese American Network
Japanese American Health Care / Social Services Bibliography
AAPCHO (Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations)
Advocate for policies and programs that improve the provision of health care services that are community driven, financially affordable, linguistically accessible, and culturally appropriate.

Transcultural nursing : assessment & intervention by [edited by] Joyce Newman Giger.
Call Number: 610.73 T68g6
ISBN: 9780323083799
Publication Date: 2013; 6th ed.
Cultural diversity in health and illness by Rachel E. Spector
Call Number: 362.1089 Sp3c8 book
ISBN: 9780132840064
Publication Date: 2013; 8th ed.
Transcultural health care : a culturally competent approach by [edited by] Larry D. Purnell.
Call Number: 362.1089 T68p4
ISBN: 9780803637054
Publication Date: 2013; 4th ed.
Transcultural concepts in nursing care by [edited by] Margaret M. Andrews, Joyceen S. Boyle.
Call Number: 362.173 An2t6
ISBN: 9781608310753
Publication Date: 2012; 6th ed.
Caring for patients from different cultures by Geri-Ann Galanti
Call Number: 610.73 G13c4
ISBN: 9780812220315
Publication Date: 2008; 4th ed.

Journal of Cultural Diversity
Presents the distinct nature & health-care needs of the multi-cultural patient with original research.
Journal of Transcultural Nursing
A peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal that aims to advance the field of cross cultural nursing and healthcare. Its mission is to contribute new knowledge about the relationship between social and cultural factors related to healthcare, with a focus on improving care for persons of all cultures.

Web Resources

Culture Clues
Tip sheets for clinicians designed to increase awareness about concepts and preferences of patients from the diverse cultures served by University of Washington Medical Center.
CultureGrams (Proquest)
One of the most trusted and widely used cultural reference products in the education, government, and non-profit arenas. Its aim is to foster understanding and appreciation of the world's peoples by documenting the unique details of their customs, traditions, and daily life.
CultureMed
Facilitates the provision of culturally competent healthcare to refugees and immigrants worldwide by providing a web site and a resource center of print materials located at the Peter J.Cayan Library at SUNYIT in Utica, NY.
Diversity RX
The purpose of DiversityRx is to improve the accessibility and quality of health care for minority, immigrant, and indigenous communities. We support those who develop and provide health services that are responsive to the cultural and linguistic differences presented by diverse populations.
Ethnomed
EthnoMed contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
Health Information Translations
Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate.
MedlinePlus: Health Information in Multiple Languages
Links to find health information in languages other than English.
SPIRAL (Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages)
A web resource that connects people to authoritative health information in Asian languages that is freely available on the World Wide Web. SPIRAL is maintained by the Tufts University Hirsh Health Sciences Library
Transcultural Nursing Society
Provides links related to transcultural nursing but not about specific cultures. Includes conferences, links to articles, and information about activities.

Government Resources

Office on Women's Health (USDHHS)
This site provides resources related to health issues encountered frequently by minority women in the United States
Asian American Health (Medline)
An information portal to issues affecting the health and well-being of Asian Americans in the United States.
Cultural Competency (Office of Minority Health)
Federal government reports and resources dedicated to cultural competency in healthcare.