LibGuides: Business Resources: Consumer Behavior

Databases/Online Journals

Business Source Complete (EDS) This link opens in a new window Provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.ALso contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

EBSCO Databases
Select from a menu of databases in various subjects and disciplines.

APA PsycINFO (EDS) This link opens in a new window An electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Websites

American Customer Satisfaction Index
Customer satisfaction index can be browsed by industry or company.
Association for Consumer Research
A comprehensive site with many resources advocating consumer research. Use "quicklinks" to access resources for: consumers, marketers and researchers. Also provides search of ACR Proceedings.
Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE)
Consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Pew Social & Demographic Trends.
Studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key areas of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure.
Publications.USA.gov
This Federal Citizen Information Center site still offers important consumer information and publications to help you make important life decisions.

Library Materials

Being consumed : economics and Christian desire by William T. Cavanaugh
Call Number: 261.85 C31b
ISBN: 9780802845610
Publication Date: 2008
Brandwashed : tricks companies use to manipulate our minds and persuade us to buy by Martin Lindstrom
Call Number: 658.8343 L64
ISBN: 9780385531733
Publication Date: 2011
The consistent consumer : predicting future behavior through lasting values by Ken Beller, Steve Weiss, and Louis Patler
Call Number: 658.8342 B41c
ISBN: 1419502735
Publication Date: 2005
Why it sells : decoding the meanings of brand names, logos, ads, and other marketing and advertising ploys by Marcel Danesi
Call Number: 658.8 D19w
ISBN: 9780742555440
Publication Date: 2008
Customer sense : how the 5 senses influence buying behavior by Aradhna Krishna
Call Number: 658.8342 K89c
ISBN: 9780230341739
Publication Date: 2013
Marketing to millennials : reach the largest and most influential generation of consumers ever by Jeff Fromm and Christie Garton
Call Number: 658.834 F92m
ISBN: 0814433227
Publication Date: 2013

Consumer demographics and behaviour [electronic resource] : markets are people by Jo M. Martins, Farhat Yusuf, David A. Swanson.
ISBN: 9789400718548
Publication Date: 2012
The effects of cause-related marketing on customers' attitudes and buying behavior [electronic resource] by Denise Steckstor ; with a foreword by Florian von Wangenheim.
ISBN: 383493240X
Publication Date: 2012
Handbook of culture and consumer behavior by Sharon Ng and Angela Y. Lee, editors
ISBN: 9780199388516
Publication Date: 2015
Experts from a variety of disciplines and perspectives trace the historical development of culture research in consumer psychology and examine the theoretical underpinnings that account for these findings and the current state of the field. Collectively, the chapters provide a forum for researchers to engage in thoughtful debates and stimulating conversations and offer directions for future research

How they sell [videorecording] by director, Rob Bayley ; produced and directed by Graham Strong ; series producer, Jo Vale ; a BBC/TLC co-production
Call Number: 658.8342 H83 prog.2
Publication Date: 2004
From the Turkish bazaar to the Mall of America, this program reveals the strategies being used to ensure that wallets and purses remain open for business. Experts share their insights into the importance of advertising, store design, product placement, and buyer behavior analysis--all underlying aggressive new approaches that have redefined consumers as targets.

Advertising Age
Focus is on news in the advertising business.
Journal of Business Ethics
Original articles and reviews concerning ethical issues related to business, and analyses of systems of production, consumption, marketing, advertising, social and economic accounting, public relations and organizational behavior from a moral viewpoint.
Journal of Consumer Research
Research focused on describing and explaining consumer behavior.
Journal of Marketing Research (JMR)
Articles cover concepts, methods, & applications of marketing research, as well as reviews and comments relating to the research industry and its practices.

New York Times: Consumer Behavior

News about consumer behavior, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.

Consumer Action Handbook 2017

COMING SOON: 2020 edition

Consumer Action Handbook 2017

Top 10 Global Consumer Trends for 2020

Top 10 Global Consumer Trends

Future of the Family Trends in Consumer Spending

The data included in this document is accurate according to Passport, Euromonitor International’s market research database, at time of publication: April 2019

Future of the Family Trends in Consumer Spending