LibGuides: Business Resources: Marketing

Getting Started

So, you have a group marketing project and you don't know where to begin. Here is a brief step-by-step tutorial to get you started:

Determine the industry type by going to the Business Source Complete database

Search by company name or business type
Locate the NAICS Code and Industry designation (if listed)

Go to EBSCOHost (standard interface) database

Select databases you wish to search. A few good choices are:

   Academic Search Complete/Premier
   Business Search Complete/Premier
   Regional Business News

In the search box, type in the NAICS code or company/industry name. if required, select "Published Date from" to set parameters for a certain timeframe

For SWOT analysis information, type SWOT next to company/industry name, or under "Special Delimiters for.." select SWOT Analysis under Publication Type.

Note: in top right column, a list of companies under your selected industry may be listed.

Popular Databases

Use these inks tfor business databases available to you from the Malone library:

Business Source Complete (EDS) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business publications.

EBSCO Databases
Choose databases such as Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and Regional Business News.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides access to thousands of news sources, as well as links to business and legal information.
Wall Street Journal Report
From 07/01/1993 to present in LexisNexis Academic. Offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Online Resources

A few online resources

ACNielsen
The world's leading market research firm, providing measurement and analysis of marketplace dynamics, consumer attitudes and behavior, and media in more than 100 countries.
Euromonitor
Focuses on market research and business intelligence for the European consumer markets
Gartner Group Interactive
A leading information technology market research consulting firm. It has a wide variety of services, including journals and newsletters, which can be subscribed to and are available online.
KnowThis.com
A leading information and resource website for those involved in marketing, market research, advertising, selling, promotion, and other marketing-related areas.
Pew Research Social & Demographic Trends
Studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure.
Quirk's Market Research Review
Provides market research and market research services (for a fee)
USAData
Provides consumer profile data by geographic segment as well as broader marketing, advertising, company, and consumer behavior research reports and mailing lists

SEC: EDGAR

Search for company information. Company filings are available starting in 1994

Public company data filed as mandated by law.
10K=annual reports
10Q=quarterly reports

Marketing -Organizations

Advertising Research Foundation
An association where practitioners from every avenue of advertising – agency, academia, marketer, media, and research – gather to exchange ideas and research strategies.
American Marketing Association
The leading organization for marketers, AMA is the trusted go-to resource for marketers and academics.
IA Code of Standards and Ethics for Marketing Research and Data Analytics
April 2019
Insights Association
As the leading voice, resource and network of the marketing research and data analytics community, the Insights Association helps its members create competitive advantage.

Business Resources: Marketing

Getting Started

Popular Databases

Online Resources

SEC: EDGAR

Marketing -Organizations

American Public Media: Marketplace